Blogging Thru the Alphabet – Animals – R is for Rhinoceros


I’m joining in the Blogging Through the Alphabet series with Through the Calm and Through the Storm as well as Adventures with Jude. I will be having animals as my theme.

Here are my past posts in case you missed them:

A for Aardvark    B for Badger    C for Capybara    D for Dodo    E for Eagles  F for Falcons

G for Giraffe  H for Hedgehog   I for Ibis    J for Jackal   K for Killer Whale   L for Leopard

M for Macaw   N for Nyala   O for Okapi  P for Porcupine  Q for Quetzal

I was thinking about “R” and decided to do rhinoceros because I was guessing there was a lot I didn’t know about them, even though I feel I know about them. So … let’s see what we can learn!

They live in Africa and there are two species: black and white. Both are distinct in their own ways. (Ok … already something I did NOT know! I had NO IDEA there were TWO!) They are different in their lip shape NOT their color. (Yea, that’s weird!)

White Rhino scientific name: Ceratotherium simum


Above is a white rhino; below is a black rhino.


Rhinos are herbivores, meaning they eat only plants.

The white, or square-lipped, rhino is actually grey in color, has a hump on its neck and has a long face. The black, or hook-lipped (triangular shaped), has a thick hairless grey hide. Both have two horns (a smaller one above the larger one).

Black rhinos are solitary while white rhinos tend to be more social.

They have poor eye sight but have really good smelling and hearing.

Black rhinos tend to live in places that have dense wooded vegetation. White rhinos are normally found in savannas that have mud holes, water holes and shade trees.

The white rhino is the second largest land mammal – second to the elephant.

Females have babies every two and a half to five years. Gestation is 14 to 18 months. Although babies nurse for a year, calves are able to begin eating vegetation one week after birth.

There are also three Asian species: the Indian and the Javan, each with one horn, and the Sumatran, which has two.

Between all five species they can range in weight from 1,800 pounds to 5,100 pounds.

Life span is approximately 35 years.

I hope you enjoyed learning about these amazing animals as much as I did! Come back next week when we cover the letter S and learn about the skunk.

Now go check out all the other posts of those who are joining in with Blogging Through the Alphabet. They can post this entire week so make sure to check back and see what has been added!

Enjoy the journey!


Tagged: ,

One thought on “Blogging Thru the Alphabet – Animals – R is for Rhinoceros

  1. Annette Tinholt Vellenga March 3, 2016 at 6:14 am Reply

    Rhino’s are interesting animals. In some places caretakers remove their horns (just like they remove the tusks of elephants) in order preserve their lives from poachers. It’s not the only answer, but in some areas it has helped.

    visiting via alphabet blogging


I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: