Inexpensive Prayer Box

“Confess your trespasses to one another, and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The effective, fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much.” James 5:16

Have you seen War Room yet? It is an absolutely amazingly wonderful movie that you MUST SEE! That movie helped me pick my “Word for 2016” which is PRAYER. Prayer has always been important to me (since I got saved) and the Lord has worked on me over the years in this area; like everything else it shifts as we grow in Him.

So, I shared my prayer box on Facebook yesterday and was overwhelmed with the response of those who loved the idea. Honestly I don’t even remember where or how I came up with the idea – I’m sure there were other people involved as I’m not very creative. *grin* But because they loved it so much there, I thought I would share it with you here!

PrayerBox

I have investigated many different “prayer” things over the years: fancy journals, binders, etc. but they were all too expensive for our family on a tight budget. So I came up with this. I have been using it for several years now and it really works well for me.

It is super simple and quite inexpensive.

I had a couple friends ask how I made it so I’ll share that with you too. It is very simple.

It is a regular 3×5 card holder. I took one (or more if necessary) of the cards and cut it in to pieces. I decided how many tabs I wanted and then taped each to its own 3×5 card to make easily seen dividers. One of the most important ones, for me, is the “Answered” tab. I *LOVE* going back through these and being reminded of how much the Lord cares for all of us. Honestly the majority of the answers are normally positive! (Which for some reason seems to be really easy to forget so this helps me remember.)

I keep blank 3×5 cards in the back of the box and fill one card out for each prayer request. I put the date at the top and then the request. I then file it under the appropriate area. Once the request has been answered I put another date and how it was answered. I then move it to the back behind “Answered”.

I have my Bible, prayer journal (which is just a regular spiral notebook that I write in each morning), any studies I am doing, Bible marking pencils, pen and prayer box all in one area so it is easy to find each morning. I start my coffee, take my thyroid meds and then start my “God Time” every morning. (For me, I’ve found that my days go better starting this way – it never fails that if I don’t, my day goes really badly.)

I hope you have found this helpful and let me know if you are moved to start your own prayer box – or let me know if you have something different that works for you! I am so excited to have been able to share this with you today!

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged: ,

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

