eBook Review & Giveaway – All Natural Mom’s Guide to the Feingold Diet

 photo ANM_GuideFeingold_Pinnable_zpsb610dd0f.jpg

We had the opportunity to review an all new book on the Feingold Diet from Sheri Davis over at All Natural Mom. The title is “All Natural Mom’s Guide to the Feingold Diet“. It is estimated at 183 pages.

Have you ever heard of the Feingold Diet? If not, it is a way of eating that has been around for A LONG TIME and has been proven to be of great help for those with ADHD (and other things). I ran across it a couple years ago when we realized my son has behavioral allergies to red food dye. However, it was a bit overwhelming so I pretty quickly moved on to other things. *grin*

The Feingold Diet is a non-profit group that is now continuing to keep updated information available to its members about different foods available. You see, the Feingold Diet has two stages of eating – the first which gets the target (the ADHD sufferer) to ‘baseline’ (what would be considered normal or tolerable behavior). Once that is obtained then they move to Stage Two where different foods are added back in to see what is or is not reacted to. Sounds fairly simple right? Well, unfortunately the real problem lies in the products where different things used may be “hidden” – for example, a preservative used with hamburger. It may not be IN the food but it is used on that little piece of “paper” under it so it keeps it fresher. THAT is a known issue for some ADHD sufferers. THIS is what being a member of Feingold is about…being kept up on changes with different products.

So…back to the book…Sheri and her family have been doing the Feingold Diet since 2005 and she started a blog in 2008 to help share information. And now she has put it all together in one amazing resource! THIS BOOK I ABSOLUTELY LOVED! The Feingold Diet can be EXTREMELY OVERWHELMING and quite confusing. This books walks you through it step by step reminding you to just breathe the entire time. I really appreciated the ‘down to earth’ tone used as well as the ‘you aren’t stupid because you don’t understand’ tone. Something newbies involved in different programs can often hear. This book brought me a HUGE sigh of relief.

From her book:

The purpose of this book is not to make parents feel guilty about what they are feeding their kids. I want to inform above all else. I hope this book helps you answer the questions, “Do I want to start the Feingold Diet for my family?” or “Do I want to make some different choices in the foods that I buy?”

And that is exactly what she does! She does NOT make you feel guilty but walks gently along side you to help guide the way.

More of what she wants:

I want to raise more awareness about the many behavioral issues caused by artificial colors, flavors, and preservatives. I want the concepts of the Feingold Diet to be on every commercial on children’s television programs. I want every parent to know exactly what is in the foods they are feeding their children.

And if you are looking for a mentor…she says this…

And for the record, I’m not a doctor , nutritionist, professional writer, researcher, scientist, or expert. I’m a mom who has over nine years of experience with the Feingold Diet. I am simply sharing what I have learned.

And to top all this wonderful information off…she is a Christian who shares her beliefs throughout her book. Ahh, another breath of fresh air!

If you or anyone you know is considering the Feingold Diet, I cannot suggest strongly enough to GET THIS BOOK!!! It talks about how to start the diet and gives many suggestions on how to go through the process. She even shares recipes! I am a research-aholic and in my opinion this is THE BEST Feingold resource ever!

With that, I have two exciting things to share…the first is…I get to offer a FREE ebook copy of this away to one of my readers…enter below! The next is that this will soon be available IN PRINT! (She is hoping December 1st.) Additionally, the price of the ebook is going to be going up December 1st so if you are interested in this…it may be in your best interest to purchase it now while it is only $2.99.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Here’s praying you have fun learning!

 

 

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this free in exchange for a review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Tagged: , ,

9 thoughts on “eBook Review & Giveaway – All Natural Mom’s Guide to the Feingold Diet

  1. Ashley Zachry November 20, 2014 at 4:15 pm Reply

    Thanks for this information, we are considering implementing this for our household but want to research it all before we get started. We just eliminated dyes and feel we see a difference but are shocked with all the research for other preservatives and additional additives to the foods we thought were better choices. Would love to read this book

    Like

  2. Sheri Davis November 20, 2014 at 5:12 pm Reply

    Thanks Dawn! You’re too kind! So glad you enjoyed the book!

    Like

  3. Michele @ Family, Faith and Fridays November 30, 2014 at 3:33 pm Reply

    Love that she walks you through the details- we want to try this diet but is can be overwhelming at first. Very interested in this!

    Like

  4. Alesia Aaron November 30, 2014 at 3:44 pm Reply

    I am really new to FG (we are 2 months in) and we are learning so much. I would love to read this book to learn more. It sounds like a wonderful resource. It is so helpful to hear from people that have been in the same situation.

    Like

  5. Theresa (hsmom) November 30, 2014 at 3:54 pm Reply

    This sounds like a wonderful resource! I can’t wait to read it.

    Like

  6. Abby November 30, 2014 at 7:30 pm Reply

    The Feingold diet has been a huge help for our family and would.love the share this resource with other families we also started by eliminating dyes but it was the preservatives that are unlabled that are also a huge issue.

    Like

  7. Marie November 30, 2014 at 8:04 pm Reply

    We have started the FG diet and any additional help would be great!

    Like

  8. Cristi Schwamb November 30, 2014 at 9:58 pm Reply

    I think Feingold might help my daughter, but I worry that there won’t be enough foods that she can have if I combine the Feingold lists with the diet restrictions she has because of food allergies. I wonder if the book would help me determine if it’s even possible to combine the two.

    Like

    • Sheri Davis December 9, 2014 at 7:01 pm Reply

      Hi Cristi! Our family has multiple food allergies as well! We are gluten and dairy free, peanut free, as well as egg free for one of my kids. We also try to avoid corn syrup and soy. Check out my Pinterest boards to see a list of foods we do on the Feingold Diet. http://www.pinterest.com/allnaturalmom4. It is possible to do other diets in combination with Feingold. We just do more stage two than I would like because of food allergies, but the chemicals avoided are the biggest part of Feingold. I think my book would help answer your questions about whether Feingold would work for your family or not. Good luck to you!

      Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

