Many Changes {again} & Our Curriculum

 photo ChangesCollage_zpsabdfce0c.jpg

Seems like “many changes” is our motto in life…even though we try to keep things simple it seems the Lord desires something different. *grin* In most cases these changes have been for the better and it would seem that is the case this time as well.

One of the changes is that hubby finally (after almost eight years) has a full-time permanent position! We are OVER-JOYED! We will be making close to double what we have been used to having as income and are excited to be able “to breathe.” With that, I am researching Dave Ramsey and Larry Burkett items (mainly from the library) so I can learn to handle money as the Lord would desire. (Hubby is good about this…me, not so much.)

The other changes involve the curriculum we will be using this year…

J will be using BJU Press Distance Learning Online. (Not the Academy they have…just online learning.) We are praying this will be a good fit for him. It is about three times the cost of what we have normally spent on his curriculum but we feel that High School is worth it, especially if it works for him! Being mostly video learning as well as having a teacher he can ask questions and other students he can communicate with…overall we are just praying this will be a good fit for him. Fortunately they are having a 10% off sale 8/1 – 8/4 as well as a payment plan. I also found a High School Planner we liked that we will be reviewing soon. He has never had his own planner so I am excited to see how it works for him.

I am also changing P’s curriculum. We are planning to use Five in a Row (FIAR) along with Math-U-See. I am still deciding on a phonics program but Explode the Code seems to be highly recommended so we may go that route. (Not sure if we would do the online version or the books yet.) I love the Charlotte Mason way of schooling (which actually blends well with FIAR) so that may be mixed in with FIAR but the thing I like the most about FIAR is that there is some guidance, but not too much guidance. I was able to get Volumes 1,2 & 3 as well as the Bible Supplement and the Cookbook – all but one were found used. Fortunately for us we have an EXCELLENT library system. Out of all the books (about 35 – 40) in Volumes 1 & 2 there were only three we couldn’t get.

Needless to say we are currently trying to ‘hold on to our hats’ as we roll with this new “plan”. We are excited to see how things go! Do you have any changes happening in your lives / homeschooling? Feel free to share in the comments!

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “Many Changes {again} & Our Curriculum

  1. Stacie July 30, 2014 at 12:33 pm Reply

    I am so happy that your hubby found a full time job. I know this has been a long time coming. Sometimes we just have to go with what works and I am so glad you found a good high school program for J. I have thought about using FIAR with Brittany. I did make some changes to what we are using for both of the kids. I will tweak it a little more probably at tax time as that is when I make the years purchase for the following year and what I need for the current year if something isn’t working. I did find some great things at some teacher’s sales to use this year. I probably will end up tweaking as I go still. It tall depends how these new additions work for the kids.

    Like

  2. Karen W August 8, 2014 at 2:49 pm Reply

    I am so glad that things are going so well for you! I hope your new plans for schooling go well for you. I can’t wait to see how FIAR works for you.

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

