Happy Mother’s Day ~ or is it?

 photo NotHappyDay_zps97fb311e.jpg

Today is, of course, Mother’s Day. A day that fills me with so many emotions that I am never really sure which way I am going. Today is definitely not a happy day for me…but I pray some day that will change.

This post is for all of us who cringe on Mother’s Day…who aren’t all over-joyous and excited about this day. This is a post meant to encourage us…that even though our past is hurtful…the future doesn’t have to remain that way.

Some of the thoughts going through my mind and heart:

  • My childhood was not a good one therefore I am not thankful for a “wonderful mother” as so many others.
  • My mother is not a part of our lives therefore this day brings additional pain, hurt and anger.
  • I see posts of “Dog Mom” on Facebook and am reminded that she loved her dogs far more than me.

However, in an attempt to change this day to a more positive experience, I am trying to choose to think of these things:

  • I love my boys beyond words and I pray they see that daily.
  • Although I am not “the best” mom, I do try.
  • I believe I am doing a better job than my mom did.

 photo mom-1113fg-v-941_sm_zps6162a383.jpg

Although I am not sure my boys would “rise and call her blessed” (Proverbs 31:28a) I do believe they love me and they know I love them.

So…instead of looking to the PAST…I will choose to look to the FUTURE!

Hugs my friend…and think of Mandisa’s wonderful song “Overcomer“!

There…see…I’m feeling better already! I even have a smile on my face!

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

2 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day ~ or is it?

  1. Tristan May 11, 2014 at 6:35 am Reply

    Dawn,

    ((HUGS)) Have a good day!
    I also try to remember the other women who ‘mothered me’ growing up and even now as an adult, the Titus 2 women who have influenced me as well as those who influence my own children.

    Like

  2. Dawn May 11, 2014 at 8:09 pm Reply

    Just letting you know that you are not alone by any means in feeling the pain that you are feeling or the forcing of your mind through the strength that can come only through Christ to change your focus away from the pain today.

    My mom was a great mom, but somehow in His providence God took her home to be with him when I was 13. Mother’s Day has always been hard since then and I have fought back tears today in still missing her incredibly. The wounds around this day just crew as our first child was lost through a miscarriage before he ever breathed his first breath. And now I am watching the next generation as some women close to me have also been called heavenward and leave behind children to be raised by their daddies.

    The wounds come in many different ways, but the Healer and Balm for those wounds is the same. I rejoice that in our pain, we can turn to Him and find hope and encouragement that He is still working His healing power.

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

