5 Days of Homeschooling with Excessive Energy – Diet

 photo ExcessiveEnergy_Day2_zpsdf9fb1d6.jpg

Hi again! Glad you are back! This week I am excited to be participating in the Schoolhouse Review Crew Blog Hop! There are over SIXTY of us participating and sharing MANY different things about homeschool life. I chose to post about “Homeschooling with Excessive Energy” because P, our youngest son (6), has A LOT of energy and I would like to share with you some of the things we have done to “help”…help him, help us, help homeschooling, help life.

Yesterday I shared what *I* mean by ‘excessive energy’…you can read that post HERE.

Today I want to continue this series with DIET because that is how it started for our family. For us, the first thing we found out is that he had a behavioral issue with red dye…this is what started it all! Honestly I wasn’t aware of the FACT that what we eat affects so many other things in our lives (sad but true). I did A LOT of research and found out that red dye affects A LOT of children…yet…we (the United States) still use it and mostly in a lot of KIDS items! What do I mean by “behavioral issue”? Well, we began to notice that he would have EVEN MORE energy (which is hard to believe that he can have MORE energy) as well as we found that he didn’t really want to listen to us. He also became more argumentative about even the most basic of questions. So we cut out red dye and almost immediately saw a HUGE improvement!

 photo WholeFoods_zpsaebb2428.jpg

We have also moved to a more “whole / real food” diet and much less processed foods as many of the {unreadable name} items are also known to cause reactions similar to ADHD. I have checked in to the Feingold Diet as well, however they do not have an Aldi food shopping list for our area and we simply cannot afford to shop elsewhere so unfortunately this is not going to work for our family at this time. However, I have heard good things about this program. It appears to be a very intense program but one that is talked of well.

Wheat and gluten have been shown to cause these symptoms as well and MANY people have found much relief from removing these from the diet. We have removed a lot but not all as doing this is just really expensive and very difficult. We are in process but have not made it here completely. However, it is understood that you really will not see any relief until it is removed COMPLETELY.

This doesn’t really have to do with “diet” but it has been shown to help…diffusing essential oils. I have purchased the necessary oils one place I trust recommends (lemon, lavender and thyme) but am waiting till we have the funds to purchase a diffuser. Until then I am changing our house hold cleaners, etc over to homemade as there is evidence that the things in these can cause issues as well! I have started with a homemade air freshener which consists of vodka, distilled water, lemon and lavender essential oils…we all LOVE it! It has a much fresher and cleaner smell!

Several “supplements” have been proven to assist. This is currently where we are in our lives. I recently started P on probiotics twice a day. The actual recommended dosage was three times a day but I felt more comfortable starting a little lower. After a few weeks of this, I plan to add fish oil to his diet as it has also been shown to help.

“Healing” ADHD type behaviors through diet and surrounding elements is proving to be a long and fairly intense thing. There is A LOT of investigation that is necessary, at least for me. I want to make sure what I am trying is “proven” (which means I want several confirmations that this is the correct thing to do / try). I know not everything will work for us and I’m okay with that too. I just want to find out what the best options to try are. And I would like to help our son without pharmaceutical medications.

I hope I have helped offer some ideas that you may find helpful.

Now hop over and visit the rest of my “small group” to see what they had to share today!

Lexi @ Lextin Academy ~ The Homeschool Dad, CEO
Lynn @ Ladybug Chronicles ~  Organizing Your Home and School
Cristi @ Through the Calm and Through the Storm ~ Homeschooling Thankfulness
Melissa @ Mom’s Plans ~ Historical Field Trips
Karen @ Tots and Me ~ Making Geography Fun
Adena @ AdenaF ~ Mnemonics
Amy @ Homeschool Encouragement ~ Lego Learning
Erin @ For Him and My Family ~ Record Keeping

Then click the picture below to visit the main page and see what some of the others shared!

April Blog Hop

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged: ,

4 thoughts on “5 Days of Homeschooling with Excessive Energy – Diet

  1. Beth Cranford April 8, 2014 at 9:34 am Reply

    It looks like you’ve been studying and finding a lot of great information!
    Few of us really realize how much food affects us, for better or worse. Many don’t understand that food can change your brain chemistry! Oh, it breaks my heart, the things that are allowed in our “food” sources. What is the food industry doing to our children? And then we moms have to spend countless hours researching how to overcome and avoid that garbage that is readily available. It shouldn’t be this way but I’m glad you’re putting the time in to help your little one (and the rest of your family!)

    Like

  2. Lexi April 9, 2014 at 9:12 am Reply

    Very true! Red dye affects my oldest. It took us a while to figure that out though! We are also gluten free and it has helped all of us! I diffuse oils in our school room during the day and it improves the moods of everyone. But I should get back to using probiotics daily for my kids. Thanks for the reminder!

    Like

  3. Lynn April 10, 2014 at 1:22 pm Reply

    I totally agree the importance of diet and nutrition. We’ve been eating whole unprocessed for years and the behavior of my children, their energy levels and moods are much improved without all the chemicals that are added in processed food.. great post..

    Like

  4. Michele P April 12, 2014 at 8:33 pm Reply

    Hey Dawn, can I get the “recipe” you are using (amounts) for your air freshener, please? We too diffuse oils, we use peace and calming and are looking into one called vetiver, and ousted dyes of any colors! Big difference!

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

