The *MOST IMPORTANT* Thing in Our Homeschool

 photo Bible_zps95182aae.jpg

Hi everyone! I am SO EXCITED to be participating in the Homeschool Essentials hop! Today I want to share our NUMBER ONE MOST IMPORTANT thing that is a MUST HAVE for our homeschool and that is the Bible! This has many different aspects to it so let’s get started…

First, FOR MOM, I have repeatedly found that if I do not spend my quiet time with the Lord EVERY MORNING – reading and praying – my days just DO NOT go well from the start. Because of many things in my life, my brain apparently needs “the reset button” pushed EACH AND EVERY morning. I need to have His words of grace and mercy before me EVERY MORNING. This helps me in the way that I behave throughout the day as I interact with others.

Second, FOR THE KIDS, it is interesting how I can see a different in J’s attitude too – when he has not been reading his Bible. So, I know it is not just me. We ALL need to have His word before us EVERY day. There is truly magic and power in His word that covers our sinful nature.

Third, CURRICULUM. For us, the Bible needs to be in the curriculum choices we make as well. We want to make sure that what we believe is being reinforced through what they are learning. One of the hardest things for me when my oldest was still in public school was having me teaching him about how the world came about (creation) and how the school was telling him (evolution). This was wrong on a couple levels. First he was getting two completely different things told to him as fact. Next, I was basically telling him not to believe / trust his teachers because they were telling him incorrect information.

 photo 39-1013alfy-book13_sm_zpsb615f497.jpg

When I think of the thing that is the most center of our homeschool – it is definitely God’s Word. We need to have it before us, we need to study it, we need to learn it, we need to know it. We need to do this for ourselves and for others. To me, there is NOTHING more important.

Please take a few minutes to visit the following blogs to see what essentials they have shared:

Amanda @ Hopkins Homeschool

Jennifer @ Royal Little Lambs

Sarah @ My Joy-Filled Life

Debbie @ Debbie’s Homeschool Corner

Lisa Marie @ The Canadian Homeschooler

Laura @ Four Little Pengins

Dinah @ The Traveling Classroom

Chareen @ Every Bed of Roses

Erin @ Water on the Floor

Then go check out the Schoolhouse Review Crew blog page for even MORE wonderful bloggers sharing (we have almost 90!).

5 Days of Homeschooling Essentials

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “The *MOST IMPORTANT* Thing in Our Homeschool

  1. […] Dawn @ Guiding Light Homeschool The *MOST IMPORTANT* Thing in Our Homeschool […]

    Like

  2. […] The *MOST IMPORTANT* Thing in Our Homeschool […]

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

