Be Still and Know that I am God

 photo Ps46_10_zps7dfb7cde.jpg

The words from Psalm 46:10 “Be Still and Know that I am God” are coming to mind today as I ponder one particular decision I need to make. It isn’t a huge life changing decision…it is just a decision. Now, if you have been reading my blog (or noticed the picture on the top left) my “Word of the Year” is Focus and with that it means I am to really look at each and every decision BEFORE deciding what to do. You see…I am the “load, shoot, aim” kind of person. I am an “action” person.

However…the Lord is teaching me to WAIT.

For me, for now, this means to wait until I hear a “Yes, do this”.

It does NOT mean…jump and see what happens. I does NOT mean doing something is better than doing nothing. It means WAITING ON THE LORD to say YES. GO. DO.

This is new territory for me. But I have to admit, it feels good. It feels good to wait. To be sure. And honestly…most of the time I am finding it means saying “no”…something I haven’t been very good at doing thus far. I am also finding it is helping me to reduce the stress in my life…which therefore reduces the stress in the rest of the family.

There are a couple different areas the Lord is working with me on this but they are covered in the same area – decisions to NOT move. You see…our family has been in financial stress for YEARS. My husband has been trying to get a full-time teaching job and I’ve been working part-time (both inside and outside the home) trying to help make ends meet. It took me YEARS (literally, unfortunately) to realize that what the Lord wanted me to do was STOP – to stop working. To stop trying to take care of things in my own way. To stop trying to take care of things in MY time. (Who knew!?!?) Well, back in November…I heard Him LOUD and CLEAR. STOP. So I did. After discussing it with hubby, we agreed I would stop working and he would be the sole provider (well, I do clean our church building, but other than that, I do no other paying work…well, except Lilla Rose, but that is now very minimal as well [one online order per month, easy].)

It has been VERY HARD for me to NOT try to get every job I have seen come before me…and ironically (not! it’s the Devil seeing what I will do) I have seen more jobs in the last few months than I have seen in a very long time! Each time I jump – OH A POSSIBLE JOB! – then I STOP. And say…”NO JOB. The Lord has said NO JOB.”

It has been hard…but it has been SO GOOD! It has been good for me, and it has been good for hubby. As a matter of fact, today starts his first FULL week of jobs (yes…that does have an “s” on it). He will be working three part-time jobs where the hours balance out to about a full-time job. We are SO THANKFUL to the Lord for providing for our family!

Now my job…it is the most important of all…our family. (More to come on this!)

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged:

One thought on “Be Still and Know that I am God

  1. Charity January 13, 2014 at 9:49 pm Reply

    So thankful that God is showing you to wait on Him and that HE is providing work for Phil. The Lord will work if we just get out of the way and let Him!

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

