How the Lord Changes People {me}

 photo Medical_0114_zps5870d246.jpg

I have had some stressful (to me) things happening over the couple / few weeks and as I look back over it all now that it is over and I am amazed at how much the Lord has changed me!

I am really bad with time frames (I could probably hunt down the letter but don’t feel like it is worth the effort at this point) but a couple / few weeks ago I received a letter from our doctor of eight years saying that we were being dismissed as her patients for “non-compliance” (or something like that). I am assuming it is because I didn’t take myself or the boys in for our wellness checkups in 2013. Needless to say, I was SHOCKED when I received the letter! Normally, my first reaction would be to get VERY ANGRY and call the doctor office and GO OFF on anyone and everyone I could. I am glad to say that did not happen. As a matter of fact, I didn’t call them about it at all (until later in my story).

Of course this wasn’t too long before Christmas, and New Year’s, and all the bad weather we’ve been having. So finding a new doctor was not at the top of my list of things to do. However, from not long after I got the letter, my thoughts were focused on the monthly prescriptions I get – and praying that a simple solution would find its way through. [Side note: I have been doing a lot of research over the last several years about eating healthier, etc so that is in the works, but for now…monthly prescriptions are still a part of my life.] Overall, I was assuming my doctor would approve at least a partial, if not a full prescription as it would have been less than a month since receiving the letter.

So earlier this week, now that the weather has calmed down (we got about 10 inches of snow and had below zero temps for a couple days – both unusual for our area), I decided to see if I could get us set up at the local doctor office. I called them and gave them the necessary information for them to check out. I didn’t hear back for a couple days and during that time it was time for one of my prescriptions to run out. I called the pharmacy and asked for a refill. They eventually called back saying the doctor office had declined it as I was no longer their patient.

Step two of my not freaking out and yelling at anyone and everyone that was within ear range. I simply called the doctor’s office and left two different messages  – one with the nurse’s station and one with the prescription area. I didn’t hear back. So I called the pharmacy the next day and asked if they had heard anything. They said no. I asked if they could give me a 10-day supply or something. They said there wasn’t anything they could do without a prescription from my doctor, even though they understood this is not a medication I am supposed to stop abruptly. Again, I did not blow up.

I called my doctor office again and this time was not going to do anything but speak with an actual person. I finally got my doctor’s assistant on the phone and told her what was going on. She said she showed no record of me calling previously. And…I did NOT blow up. She said she was going to send the doctor a note and we’d go from there.

Finally to the end of story: end of the day I had a prescription from the doctor…not only a current refill but with a few months to allow me to get a new doctor. (Which as I said, we are already working on.) So…my point? In looking back, I am SO AMAZED at how the Lord has changed me! Years ago my blood pressure would have been sky high and everyone I would have come in to contact with would have had NO DOUBT how angry and mistreated I was. I am so proud of myself and SO THANKFUL to the Lord for this new person I am becoming!

Now granted, I have to admit I did get a little frustrated from time to time and I did vent a little here and there but overall…a completely different person. Amazing. Seriously! The Lord is SO GOOD to have loved me from the beginning…from when I was such a terrible person (really). He saw “the diamond in the rough”. I cannot thank Him enough for taking my hand and helping me to change.

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

3 thoughts on “How the Lord Changes People {me}

  1. Blossom January 9, 2014 at 12:07 pm Reply

    Good for you- and praise be to the Lord! Praising Him for helping you change who you are {many say “this is me, I can’t change- accept me”}, and for getting you the medication you need! 🙂 Big smiles over here so I’m sure your’s was even more and what a relief for you.

    Like

  2. Martha January 9, 2014 at 1:15 pm Reply

    Made me cry. God is so good.

    Like

  3. Brandy January 10, 2014 at 9:35 am Reply

    It’s amazing how God can use our everyday situations to grow and change us!

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

