Cooking with Cast Iron #1

As the new year begins, I am trying to make some different changes – healthier changes. Keeping in mind that I am in NO WAY attempting perfection, but only TO BE BETTER than before. So…with that…we started our our New Year with homemade donuts. Better in the fact that they were homemade (with gluten-free flour) and were cooked in our cast iron skillet.

I have done A LOT of research and chatted with A LOT of people over the last several years and I have A LOT of unused information that is processing in my brain. Most of it is about healthy eating in one form or another. Way back we realized our youngest son had a behavioral allergic reaction to red dye (something the FDA knows and MANY children suffer from but it continues to be used in MANY items kids are especially known to eat). Once I realized this – and saw FIRST HAND the changes when red dye was removed from his diet – I became a completely different person.

IT WAS TIME TO DO MY OWN INVESTIGATION…and what I found is the FDA is NOT concerned about me and my family and what is best for us health-wise. This was EXTREMELY shocking to me…and very saddening.

So…my current learning has to do with cast-iron cookware. It has been proven that aluminum non-stick pans are bad for your health so I’ve been tossing around what cookware we would get when the time came to purchase new. Well, that time has come and I have decided on cast-iron as it has been proven to be the safest.

I actually purchased a cast-iron skillet for my husband a couple years ago – for his birthday, or Christmas, or something. Well, it has never been used. I think we thought it was unseasoned and the seasoning process sounds a little lengthy so we just never did anything with it. (Well, that mixed with the fact that I’ve heard how awful cast-iron is to clean after use!) Well, I pulled that baby out of the closet and low and behold if that thing wasn’t already seasoned. WOOT! So…we used it to make homemade donuts this morning! (And as you can see…I am not the cleanest when cooking from scratch – notice the flour on the dog’s back…LOL)

 photo DonutCollage1_zps55ee1c36.jpg

 photo DonutCollage2_zps7d465656.jpg

By the time we were done and I saw the pan, I was really nervous about how the cleaning process was going to go.

However, I am EXCITED to share that it was VERY EASY! I simply cleaned it with hot water while it was still warm…WIPED RIGHT OUT! I was ecstatic!!! Needless to say we are super excited to get our Christmas gift of a few cast-iron items from my husband’s parents…they should arrive tomorrow. So…more from me to come as we learn about cooking with cast-iron!

Oh…and…everyone LOVED the homemade donuts! DOUBLE WOOT!

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged: ,

4 thoughts on “Cooking with Cast Iron #1

  1. Meg January 1, 2014 at 11:36 am Reply

    Be careful if you are using cast iron and have Celiac disease. (Or if you have allergies in general and it has been used to cook your allergens.) What you are putting in may be gluten free, but it will be contaminated by the patina if you have not scoured off ALL the prior seasoning and started over – that black non-stick buildup is accumulated oil filling in all the pores and sealing it. If it’s new (and never had food in it), it won’t be a problem, but if you use older pans it can be.

    Like

    • Dawn January 1, 2014 at 12:35 pm Reply

      Hi Meg, Thank you so much for that information – I wasn’t aware of that. Good to know even though we are not officially “gluten free”. Have a blessed day!

      Like

  2. Cristi January 1, 2014 at 3:27 pm Reply

    I love cooking with our cast iron skillets.

    Like

  3. Kym January 3, 2014 at 1:21 pm Reply

    I LOVE my cast iron cookware! I need more of it! Glad you are pleased with your experience so far.

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

