2014 Word of the Year ~ Focus

Word for 2014I have never done a “word of the year” before however I have seen it on several blogs and feel led to do one for 2014.

The Lord has been speaking to my heart more and more about having my FOCUS be AT HOME. This is going to be a NEW YEAR for us…a year where I will not be working (well, I will still be cleaning our church building but no other work) and that will be a HUGE change. I have worked part-time (inside and outside the home) ever since leaving full-time employment to stay home and homeschool our boys. Unfortunately…work has to take a priority – and that it did.

However, I have decided to listen to the Lord and follow what my husband and I both believe to be true – that the husband should work and provide and the wife should take care of the home and the children. So…a couple of months ago I quit one part-time job and then kept doing another until about the beginning of this month (December). Now I only have one paying job which (as I said before) is cleaning our church building. Other than that – our home and our children are my job.

I know it seems like this should be an easy task but so far it has proven to be extremely difficult for me…for me as someone who was raised a feminist, as someone who was raised to only depend on herself, as someone who was raised with a mother who didn’t like kids, as someone who was never taught how to cook…the list goes on and on and on.

I have been trying to learn SO MUCH over the last five years of being home while working part-time…and I believe I *HAVE* learned and changed a lot… but now the HARDEST part of all…FOCUS.

 photo Word2014_2_zps4982b8ee.jpg

My thoughts on this word are first: like a microscope. To look and examine intensely each and every thought and decision. I am learning each and every one really is very important as one always affects the next one to come.

Then focus wider: on family (instead of on everyone and everything else).

Be intentional.

Focus on: me. It hurts to even write this but I know it is true. I have left myself out of the picture for too long, and it shows – literally. I have gained about 70 pounds over the last five years. A key sign that things are not right in my life. I have much mental and physical changes to make (and I’m sure spiritual too).

Overall I feel VERY GOOD about the direction our lives are headed…I only pray the Lord will give me daily strength to continue to grow and change into the woman, wife, mother that He has for me to be. For me not to let fear or bitterness stand in the way.

Do you have a “word of the year”? If so, please share it in the comments, I would love to hear about yours!

Now…(starting January 1, 2014) you can click HERE to hop around and visit other Crew members and see what their “Word of the Year” is as well!

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

3 thoughts on “2014 Word of the Year ~ Focus

  1. Jacquelin December 28, 2013 at 2:11 pm Reply

    Hi!
    Stopping by from the Crew. My word for 2014 is also FOCUS. My post doesn’t go live until 12/31 but I loved reading yours. I have similar reasons of why I need to focus this year on my priorities at hand. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. […] Dawn @ Guiding Light Homeschool — FOCUS […]

    Like

  3. Jenn January 1, 2014 at 1:40 pm Reply

    Beautiful! And yes, very similar. It seems God is laying the need on many moms hearts this year to stop and pay attention, to be purposeful, to gather memories and treasure them in our hearts. Praying we can continue to walk in it!

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

