My Thoughts on Divergent by Veronica Roth

 photo Divergent_zpsa9150bfd.jpg

I did some investigation and asked others their thoughts about this book series prior to purchasing but made my final decision based off the fact that the author shares she is a Christian and that the description sounded fairly “safe”.

This is the description:

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

[Let me tell you right from the start that this is my opinion and my opinion is not going to change. Let me also tell you that I am aware that my opinion is not “the popular opinion” – and I am okay with that. My opinion is not up for argument.]

One of the biggest things people said about it before I bought it was that it was similar to Hunger Games. Let me share that my family has not read the Hunger Games series, nor seen the movies so I cannot compare the two, except in what I have heard.

With that said, here are my thoughts and opinions based on the fact that I only read ONE-THIRD of the book…yes, that is correct…I did NOT finish the book. My reasons for that are shared throughout this post.

Let me start with a small amount of personal background. I was raised in a non-Christian, highly dysfunctional family. I have had a lot of negative in my life. But to my relief, the Lord saved me just before my 30th birthday. I have seen, personally, the changes that can happen to a person based on their thought life.

Let me say that not all of what I have read of this book is bad. There are many things that could easily compare to today’s society and many things that could be discussed as a family. These are similar to what I heard people saying about Hunger Games. HOWEVER, IN MY OPINION, this book has a very negative undertone…which are the main thoughts and feelings that are felt while reading the book.

Yes, it is very well written and you want to continue reading because you are hoping good wins over evil. However, once I put the book down (after reading for quite some time) and what I had read had time to sink in – I felt disgusted at what I had been reading. So, with that, I decided I did not want to continue reading to finish the book.

Yes, the book has camaraderie and love of family and unconditional love but even more it has to do with doing whatever you want, doing whatever it takes to getting what you want (even beating up your closest friends), winning is the only option regardless of what you have to do to get there. THESE are NOT what we are told in Scripture. Which is my main point…our family tries to change our life to do what we are told in Scripture (not that we are perfect about that IN ANY WAY…but we do try) in all areas of our lives.

My overall opinion of this book is that it goes against THIS very important verse. This verse has been HUGE in my life for changing my thought life (which in turn has changed the rest of my life). Philippians 4:8 Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.

I am sure that many are rolling their eyes about now but I personally have seen the difference of when I choose to think on negative things compared to when I choose to think about positive things. These things are “small” and seem “insignificant” but then we come to a thing called “desensitization” and well that is an entirely different post in itself.

I am not here to convince anyone of anything. I am not here to change your thoughts. The Lord is the only One who can do things like that. I am only here to share MY thoughts and opinions. I will not be finishing this book nor will I be reading any of the others in the series.

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged:

3 thoughts on “My Thoughts on Divergent by Veronica Roth

  1. Crystal H December 18, 2013 at 8:36 am Reply

    I read all of the Hunger Games and I am reading these books too. Actually it was your Facebook post that prompted me to pick up the first one the other day. I’ve read half. I was up half the night reading it last night. I didn’t want to put it down.

    As a Christian I often do not enjoy much of popular media/books/movies etc. for the very reason you quoted in scriptures above. Meditating on what is good… But it is that same scripture that makes me want to read THESE books and see these movies (Hunger Games and Divergence). After reading I find myself mulling over what really IS good, truly in God’s eyes. I find myself meditating on what might happen (or is happening) in our real world that could turn it into something resembling fiction and what actions my God might be calling me to do each day to do my part to prevent that.

    These books lack what truly disturbs me in popular media today… glorification of the unGodly. These books don’t glorify violence or sexuality or anything standard today. In fact, to me the display violence in such a way that makes violence into something revolting.

    What they do have a storyline that wakes me up to true evil that I might just not notice in every day life.

    Like

  2. Erika Haynes March 20, 2014 at 6:01 pm Reply

    i just thought i would say, i HAVE read the whole book and i LOVED it. if you have ever read the book 1984 (i sadly can’t recall the author’s name) this book opens your eyes to many things in today’s society. just like this wonderful piece of literature, Divergent highlights the negativity in men. the world today is shit. just as you said earlier, philippians 4:8:” …whatever things are true…” is it NOT true that men today are lacking in intelligence? as the Erudite motto says, “knowledge is the only logical solution to conflict. intelligence must be used for the benefit of society.”
    philippians 4:8 also says,”…whatever things are of good report…” many people lie, cheat, steal, and kill for what they want. the Candor motto says, “dishonesty makes evil possible. truth makes us inextricable.”
    “…whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure…” the Dauntless motto says,”we believe in freedom from fear, in ordinary acts of bravery, [and] in defending those who cannot defend themselves.” i would like to highlight the “ordinary acts of bravery” because isn’t it an act just to practice your faith? i think god would be laughing at all of us right about now.
    now, i’m not trying to say that you’re stupid and wrong about your views on the book, but i just wanted to show you that there is many reasons to at least FINISH the book.

    Like

    • Dawn March 22, 2014 at 8:12 am Reply

      Erika: While I appreciate your thoughts…I do not agree with them. I do not feel that this type of knowledge is the type we are supposed to know. I understand that as “the argument” a lot of people have but it is one I do not agree with nor do I believe the Scriptures instruct us to do so. Have a blessed day! Dawn

      Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

