Weight Watchers ~ Week 1

 photo WeightWatchers_zpsf2f08478.jpg

So…after thinking about it for about a week…I decided to join Weight Watchers on Sunday. They had a 50% off offer for the first three months…so…I signed up! A couple reasons were…HALF PRICE! (*grin*) Along with there being a local meeting that only lasts about 30 minutes. (So, this doesn’t require A LOT of time nor gas…which financially can add up!) I have tried several FREE options (we all know how much I *LOVE* FREE!) all with no success.

Over the last couple of years I have tried MANY things…all unsuccessfully…so we’ll see if “putting money where my mouth is” will help (it is funny how we often times take things more seriously if we have to fork [pun intended] out some cash, ya know?!). I have tried free things like TOPS, My Fitness Pal and SparkPeople. I tried reading books like Made to Crave and Reshaping It All. I have tried being in online support groups. I’ve been learning about eating healthier…less processed foods, more homemade. So far, none have worked…the weight has continued.

I have gained 65 – 70 pounds over the last five years. NOT GOOD! There are many reasons for this, I believe.

  • Our youngest son didn’t sleep for FOUR YEARS. Which of course means I didn’t sleep.
  • Not sleeping means, eating more junk in hopes of staying awake during the day.
  • Stress of every day life with a boy with an EXCESSIVE amount of energy.
  • Stress of every day life of trying to work and homeschool.
  • Stress of every day life of financial struggles.
  • Stress of trying to learn to be a loving wife and mother.
  • Did I mention STRESS? *grin*
  • Starting “the change of life” a woman goes through.
  • I was already a “sugar addict”.
  • Being raised with unhealthy eating habits.
  • I am an “emotional eater”.

I am sure there are more…but this is all I could come up with at the moment.

I thought for YEARS (aka most of my life) that sleep didn’t really matter. HA! Boy have I found out differently! I do believe sleep plays a VERY IMPORTANT role in MANY areas of our lives…which then, affects how we eat.

A couple of things I have realized this week:

  1. Being gone from the house all or most of the day does not bring good eating.
  2. Staying up late does not bring good eating.

I have no idea how this new journey is going to go. I do know that so far I am at least aware of what I am eating. I am also doing Tae Kwon Do which is helping with the exercise / movement part of losing weight. (I’ll write more about this in another post.)

If you have had success with Weight Watchers, or know someone who has, I would *LOVE* some encouragement! I would also appreciate your prayers as I start this new journey!

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged:

7 thoughts on “Weight Watchers ~ Week 1

  1. Jenni Allen November 14, 2013 at 10:39 am Reply

    Dawn, I know that you will succeed. My mom did weight watchers years ago after having my baby sister and was able to learn some great tools for healthy eating. She gained the weight back after a few unsuccessful pregancies, but I think the knowledge she gained was worth it. I lost my post-baby weight with my first two kids using friends cast off weight watchers materials. I was able to keep the weight off until my 3rd pregnancy. I am currently only 7 lbs from goal weight and have lost 20 lbs over the last 3 months after reading and making a lifestyle change through Trim Healthy Mama. I have been so blessed doing this. I also started a REGULAR exercise regiment and began running in local 5K’s. This has worked for me and I finally feel that I am not controlled by food and sugar anymore! Prayers of faith and hope for your journey!

    Like

    • Dawn November 15, 2013 at 7:19 am Reply

      Hi Jenni. Thank you so much for your comment! Yes, regular exercise is a NECESSITY! which is why I am starting Tae Kwon Do…but more on that later. Hugs my friend.

      Like

  2. Susan @Homeschooling Hearts & Minds November 14, 2013 at 11:14 am Reply

    Dawn,
    Good for you for taking care of you. Praying for your success.

    While you are working with Weight Watchers, you may want to take a closer look at the underlying causes for the addictive behavior. One addiction can easily be replaced with another one (those FB games keep calling my name 😉 if the underlying cause isn’t dealt with.

    Just speaking from personal experience and concern for you. {hugs}
    Susan

    Like

    • Dawn November 15, 2013 at 7:18 am Reply

      Hi Susan. Yes, you are correct and I am in process of trying to figure out how to work through the mental, emotional and spiritual side of this too. Hugs my friend!

      Like

  3. Susan Raber November 14, 2013 at 11:36 am Reply

    My brother and his wife have used WW for years, and it has been great for them. They are both a very healthy weight, and they’ve been on the plan for so long that it they don’t have to think about it anymore.

    I think having a partner or friend doing it with you increases your chances of success, and of course, if you can use the plan with the whole family, it helps.

    Like

    • Dawn November 15, 2013 at 7:16 am Reply

      Thank you for your comment! Knowing others use / have used it helps to know it can / does work! Thank you Susan!

      Like

  4. advocarebuyproducts December 18, 2013 at 6:39 pm Reply

    There s constantly a solution! I like the overarching tone of this write-up because it touches on the factor that points are constantly altering and it is really approximately us as the person.

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

