5-Minute Friday = BELONG

This meme is hosted by The Gypsy Mama…go check it out, and join in if you’d like!
What is it? (Besides FUN!) She gives you a word and you type for 5 minutes non-stop
not worrying about grammar or punctuation. 

Today’s word is: BELONG

GO

When I think of “belong” I first think of family…but then reality sets in. My experience of family has been anything BUT belong. Sad but true. So I guess, to me, belong would be being part of a group that loves you and supports you regardless of what is going on. (That doesn’t mean they overlook things but they lovingly help you work through things.) I think we strongly desire to belong…sometimes to the point of doing things we shouldn’t (hence all the issues with teens) but as we mature and grow we become more focused on a strong bond when we belong. A bond that will carry us through the many struggles of life – because even though we are believers, that doesn’t mean there won’t be struggles (as a matter of fact the Bible says there WILL be!).

I have yet to find a place where I feel I truly belong…except in the arms of the Lord. THAT place is ALWAYS there and is THE SAFEST place to be. His arms are strong and His ability to love through trials is beyond any I’ve ever seen anywhere else. He helps me to grow and change (even when it isn’t the funnest thing to do) and loves me through the process.

Looking for somewhere to belong? Try Jesus…you just might be surprised with what you find! (I know I was!)

STOP

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

5 thoughts on “5-Minute Friday = BELONG

  1. Linda@Creekside July 19, 2013 at 6:56 am Reply

    oh yes, Dawn … ALWAYS belonging to Him, no matter what crazy dynamics our families have, or how alone we may feel day to day!

    Like

  2. Lisa notes July 19, 2013 at 6:59 am Reply

    I’m sorry you didn’t have that comforting place of belonging through family, but you’re right that Jesus is the greatest place to belong, where we are all welcome!

    Like

  3. Courtney @What's Up with the Wilhelms July 19, 2013 at 7:43 am Reply

    I love your positive outlook, turing to a higher being of love.

    Like

  4. Amy July 19, 2013 at 8:13 am Reply

    What a neat idea, to use a word prompt to loosen the creative juices! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  5. denise July 19, 2013 at 3:13 pm Reply

    amen, amen.

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

