Wednesday Hodgepodge ~ 7/17/13

1.   Picture postcards were first printed back in the mid 1800’s and deltiology is the official name for postcard collecting. When did you last send a postcard? Receive one? Do you save postcards sent to you?  Do you collect and/or send postcards when you travel?

We participated in a homeschool state postcard swap a couple years ago – it was a lot of fun. Other than that, we don’t really send or receive them. And other than that, we don’t collect them.

2. What treat do you most like to indulge in while on vacation?

We don’t go on vacation therefore we don’t indulge while gone….we just indulge while home. *grin* Dairy Queen is always a family favorite instead of the store bought stuff.

3. Are you good at hiding your feelings?

Not any more. I was raised to do so and did it rather well for a long time. The Lord has been working on my heart showing me that there is a better way…communication (which I am still learning how to do well).

4. Does your town/city/county still deliver phone books to your home?  Do you check the yellow pages when searching for a local business number or has the Internet replaced the phone book in your house?

We do get a small local phone book. No we do not use it – we use the internet.

5. Would you rather be first or last?

Probably first…my thought is “get it over with”. LOL

6.  July is National Park and Recreation Month (in America, but everyone can still play along)…where and when were you last in a park? Did you participate in any recreational activities while you were there?

Family birthday party. I didn’t but the kids enjoyed playing on all the equipment.

7. What was one of your worst ideas?

I’ve had so many it is hard to say. I am one who likes to try many different things…if I succeed, great! If not, I try to learn from it and move on.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Still thinking about THIS article…“Americans revere the Bible — but, by and large, they don’t read it. And because they don’t read it, they have become a nation of biblical illiterates.”

Head over to “Wednesday Hodgepodge” posted over at  From The Side of the Pond to read more thoughts on these questions…

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

6 thoughts on “Wednesday Hodgepodge ~ 7/17/13

  1. Courtney @What's Up with the Wilhelms July 17, 2013 at 7:36 am Reply

    I loved reading this and getting to know you better. I hadn’t seen this linky before. Thanks for sharing, I might join in next week 🙂

    Like

  2. Sophie Bowns July 17, 2013 at 7:41 am Reply

    I didn’t realise that postcards had been around for such a long time! Thanks for sharing your interesting list of questions and answers with us 🙂

    Like

  3. Joyce July 17, 2013 at 8:33 am Reply

    I’m reading the Bible through chronologically this year-my first time to do it this way, and I’m really enjoying the perspective. When you read about all the kings ‘who did not do what was right in the eyes of God’…page after page, decade upon decade, it makes me so thankful to live in the age of grace!

    Like

  4. A Joyful Chaos July 17, 2013 at 12:29 pm Reply

    Having a postcard swap sounds interesting!

    Like

  5. Rebecca July 17, 2013 at 2:01 pm Reply

    Biblically illiterate…interesting, isn’t it? I think that’s why so many people think things like “God helps those who help themselves” are in the Bible. It can be frustrating sometimes. Neat random thought there! 🙂

    Like

  6. veronica July 17, 2013 at 6:50 pm Reply

    My family LOVES Dairy Queen. On any given day of the year, in the car with my grandpa, he will say “so, do you think we will run into a blizzard today?” In the winter in MN that has a double meaning, but in the summer it only means a stop at DQ with grandpa is on the list of things to do 🙂

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

