Blogging Through the Alphabet ~ “P” for Partnership

Blogging Through the Alphabet

My 16 yo son and I have officially entered in to a partnership. A couple years ago we got out of showing and breeding rabbits in hopes that it would allow our family to travel to Bible conferences and kids Bible camps more. Well, as it turns out, having three dogs still stands in the way of traveling so we decided it was time to get some more bunnies.

 photo HollandTrio_zpsc0fb57cd.jpg

I started with Holland Lops but my 16 yo son informed me that he REALLY wanted some Netherland Dwarfs. So, I searched and searched and finally found a trio (meaning two does and a buck). The bad news? These buns were way out of my price range.

 photo NDTrio_zps0611571b.jpg

So, I asked my son if he wanted to go in to the bunny business (as he has a pretty hefty savings account). I asked him if he would like to pay for half or all (or none and not get them) of the rabbits as I felt this could be a wonderful learning opportunity and source of income for him (as we head in to the car and driving stage of life). He said he wanted to think about it but he was willing to pay for the deposit. (Show/breeding bunnies require a 50% deposit to hold them.)

It took him a little time to decide and during that time I shared some other things and options with him. I shared that bunnies also require cages, food, hay, medicine. Along with show fees, rabbit club memberships, website maintenance, promotion of the rabbitry, cleaning and feeding…you get the point. This gave him even more to think about. I also offered different options of payment vs a percent for me, etc.

Well, after about two weeks he made his final decision to pay for the entire trio and their cages. This officially makes them HIS bunnies. (I will get a small percentage of the sales for our paying for the food, hay, cleaning, etc. but the majority will be his.)

I am very excited about this new adventure. I am really looking forward to all he is going to learn about life and money from this…and all in a “safe” environment here at home.

Now hop over and visit all the other Blogging Through the Alphabet bloggers!

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

 

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Blogging Through the Alphabet ~ “P” for Partnership

  1. becca July 3, 2013 at 7:45 am Reply

    First off, blogging through the alphabet is a cute idea!

    Secondly, I want to wish you and your son good luck on your new business venture!!

    ❤ Southernmessmom.blogspot.com

    Like

  2. Ambitious Curls July 3, 2013 at 8:06 am Reply

    Awesome way to start him off having the business mindset! Great post!

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

