Book Review ~ The Shack by Wm Paul Young

 photo Shack_zps5553e6bb.jpg

The Shack
Author: Wm. Paul Young
Hardback; 266 pages

I am offering this book review on my own – I was NOT given a free copy in exchange for this review. I checked the book out from the library and read it for my own personal enjoyment.

A friend of mine posted she had finished this book on Facebook so I read the overview and thought it sounded interesting so I ordered it from the library. Once I received it I started reading it that evening…it only took me a couple hours to get half way through it. I then posted about that on Facebook and was surprised by the responses I received. Some loved the book and some wouldn’t even consider reading it because they felt it wasn’t Scriptural. It was pointed out that over 800 of the reviews were negative. (But over 1100 are 5 stars…that part wasn’t mentioned…I looked that up on my own. *wink*)

I was simply going to post my thoughts on FB but then decided that I would share my thoughts here on my blog – for more folks to have access to.

First let me say that I *GREATLY* enjoyed this book! And let me share that it is one that will stretch your thoughts and understandings of what Scripture says and how we “in the world” put God and everything about Him in the little boxes we know as humans.

Now let me share that God is a heavy set black woman lovingly referred to as “Papa” in over half of this book. Shocking? Yup! But…what it does do is show His love for His people. He knew that Mack, the main character in the book, would not have anything to do with a God who was a man (due to his abusive father). Therefore God met him where he needed him. THAT *IS* GOD. Amazing!

This is a fictional Christian book therefore should be seen as such – however, the message this book offers to both unbelievers and believers is POWERFUL! It covers pretty much every question one has about “being a Christian” and “Religion” and covers it with God’s grace – as it should be. I don’t think this book is “unscriptural” – I think it is written in a way to make us think differently about where we put God and how we see Him, and ourselves, in this world.

Would I recommend this book to others – YES! WITHOUT HESITATION! But I would also add a note that it will pull at many strings (aka boxes) you have attached to the Bible, and to God. But…if you let it open your mind and heart to what its message is…you will walk away feeling a new appreciation for God and His love for you – for all of us.

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

 

Tagged:

4 thoughts on “Book Review ~ The Shack by Wm Paul Young

  1. Sarah Bailey June 18, 2013 at 9:40 am Reply

    I appreciated your review, I’m still staying away from it as I believe there are Scripturally sound books that can have us “Open our heart and minds” to who God is and how much He loves us.

    Like

    • Dawn June 18, 2013 at 9:42 am Reply

      That is completely your right to do so Sarah. Have a blessed day!

      Like

    • April June 18, 2013 at 12:09 pm Reply

      I think that God wants us to see Him as He is – He defines Himself in the written Word. Our view of God needs to be taken from scripture – I don’t really want to open my mind to an unscriptural view of God. I know we don’t know each other ‘in real life’, so just know that this is just how I view things and it’s not meant to be antagonistic or anything – but a friendly exchange of views! 🙂

      Like

      • Dawn June 18, 2013 at 12:41 pm

        I am a very “turn to the Scriptures” kind of person so I can totally relate to what you are saying April. Without reading the book, it is hard to explain. And if you choose not to read it, that is perfectly acceptable. I feel this book will show MANY people a side of the Lord they have not seen – a side that LOVES them and wants what’s best for them, regardless of how things look. Anyway, I am thankful I read it and do not feel as if I have been moved anything but closer to Him for it. Have a blessed day! Dawn

        Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

