Blogging Through the Alphabet ~ “K” for Kindergarten

Blogging Through the Alphabet

I am doing A LOT of research right now as I’m looking at changing some things for our youngest. He is NOT a sit down and do paperwork kid. As I was researching I came across something on Charlotte Mason and her belief that kids should be outside 4 – 6 hours a day. At that moment, I knew this was for us! Although being outside that much every day isn’t a reality, I like the thinking behind it.

Charlotte Mason teaching is child-led at this young age and focuses on narration and SHORT lessons teaching attention. YES! This is my son! He already narrates, I just didn’t realize there was a homeschooling word for it! 😉 Additionally, CM doesn’t believe in doing any kind of “official schooling” with a child before the age of six…everything up to that point should just be fun learning from whatever interests THE CHILD shows. LOVE THIS (although we are just about past this…)

We tried MFW last year and it didn’t work…he just FLIES through stuff. So, this year we will try CM. I have noted the choices we have made so far on my Elementary Curriculum page. I also have a couple CM pages – one for links I don’t want to forget and one for my posts…feel free to check those out (at the top of my page) too!

I am praying this method works for us and that *I* can change some of my “teacher mentality” to adjust to CM teaching. (Although I don’t think it will be too difficult…)

Now hop over and visit all the other Blogging Through the Alphabet bloggers!

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

 

Tagged: ,

One thought on “Blogging Through the Alphabet ~ “K” for Kindergarten

  1. Stacie June 10, 2013 at 3:35 pm Reply

    To be honest I have heard of CM but never really looked into it. It sounds a lot like my son. Thanks for sharing your link with me.

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

