Investigating Charlotte Mason

 photo CharlotteMason1_zps5f846bd0.gif
Photo Credit

Our youngest son is a bit active, as I’ve shared MANY times, and any book work I have put before him has been something he has not enjoyed. To me, a big part of homeschooling is figuring out the child’s style and going with it so that they LOVE to learn. I do not want them to “tolerate” learning. (Ok, there may be SOME things they just HAVE to do, but for the most part I want them to like it.)

I have heard of the Charlotte Mason (CM) method of schooling but never really checked in to it much – until now. The past week or so I have really been looking at it, researching it, reading books from the library, reading blogs, talking with other CM homeschoolers…and I believe this may be the route to go with our youngest.

He LOVES to be read to (although not continuously) and after doing some CM research I see she likes narration…which our son already does! (I didn’t know there was “a name for it” though. *grin*) I think the BIGGEST thing that got my attention about the CM style is that she believed kids should be OUTSIDE for 4 – 6 hours A DAY investigating their world and learning about it. Now I don’t think THAT much time is possible in our lives (we live just outside a small town, we don’t own a farm or anything like that) but it did lead me to thinking with all his energy – OUTSIDE WOULD BE A GREAT PLACE TO LEARN! 🙂

 photo CharlotteMason2_zps772d0722.gif
Photo Credit

Now, I am by no means an expert on this nor am I done with my research…honestly I am pretty much in the beginning stages…but let me share with you some of the useful information I’ve found so far (I am not endorsing these sites as I am still new at all this research, but I am sharing some of what I have found to be interesting):

Websites:

Simply Charlotte Mason
Charlotte Mason Home Education
Homeschool Highlights
Ambleside Online
Penny Gardner’s Charlotte Mason

Blog posts about CM:

Charlotte Mason: Books for Form 1
Child-Led & Delight Directed Learning
Charlotte Mason by Practical Pages
The Classical Side of Charlotte Mason over at The Well Trained Mind

Resources:

Here is a link to the actual Charlotte Mason books series. (They are also available to purchase in print.)
Handbook of Nature Study – an amazing site that helps guide us moms on an easy way to get outside with our kids! (Her things actually only take about 20 per week outside so don’t fret!)
Living Books Online
Beechick Basics

I think the biggest thing to remember is that CM is a METHOD…not a list of particular books to read. It actually took me a little while to see that (as there are a lot of “book lists” out there).

Another thing that has sparked my interest in CM is “habit training”…this is something that is mentioned regularly in the homeschool community but most of what I’ve seen is pretty fluffy. CM doesn’t seem to be that way. I am very interested to check out the highly regarded Laying Down the Rails. We have also purchased Character Sketches, Vol 1 and are excited to see what it has to offer.

Well, that is all I can think of at the moment. I’m sure there will be more about this in the future. [I am also excited to share that I will have *TWO* Charlotte Mason product reviews coming!!]

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Linking up with Blogging through the Alphabet…letter “I”.

Blogging Through the Alphabet

Tagged: , ,

4 thoughts on “Investigating Charlotte Mason

  1. Charity May 8, 2013 at 12:29 pm Reply

    So glad you discovered CM! I’ve known of her stuff for a long time and always thought it was a neat way to do things. BUT I never really followed through with any of it. I have the Charlotte Mason Companion by Karen Andreola…got it from a library that was giving it away! Let me know if you want to borrow it!

    Like

  2. Lisa McClanahan May 17, 2013 at 8:14 pm Reply

    What a great list of links to check into. I hope this method works for you and your family. I haven’t really looked into this much, but what I’ve heard we already do in our house. I actually found an older edition of Character Sketches vol 1 at a used book store years ago & love it. We even used some of it for VBS one year.

    Like

  3. Brittney May 17, 2013 at 10:57 pm Reply

    I definitely lean CM in my homeschooling style! 🙂

    I knew Nature Study/Outdoor Time would be really hard for me to do, so that was the FIRST thing I implemented when I found CM, and it has become so much easier. My younger son for nature walks all the time now. Preschool and Kindergarten have been so fun and informal, but we’ve learned so much through her methods. My oldest is getting ready to start “formal” schooling later this year with (mostly) Ambleside Online.

    Like

  4. Merit K May 19, 2013 at 4:39 pm Reply

    Great suggestions- you have really researched! Thanks also for including my page in your resources 🙂

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

