Blogging Through the Alphabet ~ “D” for Diet / Nuturition

Blogging Through the Alphabet

Joining up with Marcy over at Ben & Me for “Blogging through the Alphabet” and super excited to do so!

It actually took me awhile to come up with a “D” word – which is very shocking considering all the changes and investigation I’ve been doing with our diet / nutrition. (You can check out my recent post “Healthy Living – An Update” which quickly tells many other things we have going on.) We are in process of going wheat-free (not gluten-free, there is a difference). Why are we doing this? Well, I heard quite some time ago that kids with a lot of extra energy (along the lines of ADD / ADHD) do well having dyes removed (which we have done and saw improvement) and wheat. I have been dragging my feet on the wheat part but finally took the plunge.

Wheat-free is no easy task – let me tell you! Man…I thought dyes were bad. They were NOTHING compared to wheat. It is is EVERYTHING (just about). As I emptied our pantry things like Nilla Wafters, Chicken flavored rice, soups, and SO MANY MORE things had to go.

 photo NurtimillGrainMill_zpse579c51d.jpg

I did purchase a used NutriMill Grain Mill from a friend and was able to get my hands on some different grains to try. So much fun! (And will be so much cheaper than buying the pre-made stuff from different companies…although it will not be nearly as easy as simply opening a bag and dumping it in a bowl.)

 photo BrownRiceFinal_zps803f9e00.jpg

Between online searching and friends, here are a few of the sites I’ve found to be helpful. There are MANY more I just don’t know them all.

Gluten-Free on a Shoestring

Carol Fenster Gluten-Free 101

The Vintage Remedies Guide to Bread

And yes, even though we aren’t actually GF, the majority of the places are. Since all wheat has gluten these work for us, we just don’t have to be as careful as those who are actually GF.

Now hop over and visit all the other Blogging Through the Alphabet bloggers!

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

 

Tagged:

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

