Admonish. Good, or bad?

Like a lot of things in the Scriptures, I think many (Christians included) are confused about what ‘admonish’ means. Many automatically put a negative context to it, maybe thinking it is “to put out or away from” or something, I don’t know

 photo f0f8e7c6-41b8-4b8a-87fd-f6c78abe9d83_zps8114f977.jpg

However, the TRUE MEANING of admonish, as shared in the Scriptures, is NOT bad. It is NOT harsh. It IS loving. It IS caring. It IS amazing, if done correctly.

If you look up the word ‘admonish’ on dictionary.com you get:

1. to caution, advise or counsel against something
2. to reprove or scold, especially in a mild and good-willed manner (I think many think only of the first part of this and miss the most important last part)
3. to urge to a duty; remind

Specifically I am referring to these verses found in Titus 2:3-5

the older women likewise, that they be reverent in behavior, not slanderers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things— that they admonish the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be discreet, chaste, homemakers, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be blasphemed.

I do not believe there is anything harsh or unloving about what these verses are saying.

(As a side note: the word admonish is used in the NKJV Bible ten times with the majority (and probably all of them, but there were a couple I wasn’t sure about and didn’t investigate further at this time) of them being LOVING ways of admonishing. [If you would like to see those verses, click HERE.])

So, my point is this…as someone who wasn’t raised in a Christian home and who was a “wayward / rebellious child,” I have A LOT to learn about what the Bible says about living and it is my hope and prayer that other Christian women would walk along side me and help me learn His ways ~ as stated in the verses above. I pray they would lovingly share with me the proper ways to follow what Scripture says.

 photo FriendsHelping_zps6230de00.jpg

As I continue to grow in the Lord, I am amazed at how He is changing my heart the most. For the majority of my life I have had a VERY hard heart. VERY.HARD.HEART. As the Lord works, I am finding my heart is changing the most. It is VERY CONCERNED about others…not in a way that is people-pleasing but in a TRULY concerned way – the way Christ was while here on earth. (Oh, don’t get me wrong…I AM F.A.R. from Who Christ was…but my heart is getting closer to His every day, I pray.)

So, I will leave you with this thought: be a woman of God, HELP other women. Guide them WITH LOVE toward Him and His ways. Stand and walk along side other women. NONE of us are perfect. Let’s help each other become more like Him so others will see Him through us.

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Admonish. Good, or bad?

  1. Jen March 29, 2013 at 7:54 am Reply

    Beautiful post Dawn!

    Like

  2. Tishia Chambers March 29, 2013 at 10:10 am Reply

    I just found your blog via my father’s world facebook blogroll. I look forward to reading your posts.

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

