Schoolhouse Review ~ Essentials in Writing (Grade 10) #hsreviews

Essential in Writing logo photo EssentialsinWritinglogo_zps7affe1cf.jpg

We started homeschooling four years ago when I was able to stay home and work part-time. J was in 7th Grade when we started. He had always gotten A’s and B’s in public school so I was SHOCKED to realize he had NO CLUE what a noun, verb, adjective, subject, predict, etc. was in a sentence. WOW!

We have been working hard to catch up – and to find something that would work for us. Being in 10th Grade now, writing skills are becoming more and more important. He has been moving along nicely on his basic understandings but has still been having difficulty with his writing.

UNTIL NOW.

Over the years I have heard good things about Essentials in Writing but we never pursued it.

BIG MISTAKE!

We have had the opportunity to review Essentials in Writing, Grade 10, Essay Writing & Research Paper for the last several weeks and even in that short time I have seen a HUGE improvement in J’s writing! I do not know what exactly it is about this program that works so good – all I know is that it is working! This mama is one happy person!

Essentials in Writing Grade 10 photo EIW10thgrade_zpse9ce70e0.jpg

I received the CD ROM which contains 3 discs. The disks are the printable workbook as well as the Teacher Instruction videos for each lesson. The program works by watching a small video clip (honestly, I think *THIS* is a BIG help for my son – this mixed with the fact that they allow him to use things that HE is interested it) then doing a couple fairly quick assignments. They then move on to the next Lesson. It is not meant to be done daily but every other day so we alternated between this and his grammar program.

Want to know what is covered? I took this directly from their website:

Table of Contents  

  • SENTENCE STRUCTURE – dependent and independent clause; simple, compound, complex, and compound-complex sentences; address sentence errors (fragment, run on, and comma splice)
  • FORMAL PARAGRAPH – structure; expository, persuasive, compare/contrast, descriptive, cause/effect, and narrative paragraphs
  • THE WRITING PROCESS – in depth study of each part of the writing process; practice the writing process with each multiparagraph composition
  • ESSAYS (formal and informal) – detailed instruction and step by step process for narrative, personal, expository, persuasive, and compare/contrast essays
  • RESEARCH PAPER (project) – detailed instruction and step by step process to conduct a research project and write a research paper (CAUSE/EFFECT)
Please note that you can purchase the workbook as pre-printed or as a digital download, they will no longer be mailing out CDs. This amazing program sells for $40 (pdf version) ~ it is WELL WORTH the cost, in my opinion!

Make sure to check out what my other crew mates had to say by clicking the banner below:

Photobucket
Here’s praying you have fun learning!

 

 

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this product through the Schoolhouse Review Crew in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. All opinions I have expressed are my own or those of my family. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations.

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “Schoolhouse Review ~ Essentials in Writing (Grade 10) #hsreviews

  1. Lindsay Wilder July 16, 2013 at 3:42 pm Reply

    Hi Dawn,
    I just read your review on The Essentials To Writing program. I have a special needs child
    who has severe dyslexia and audio processing disorder. He is at a 1st to 2nd grade reading
    and writing level. He is doing the beginning levels of The All About Reading and Spelling
    programs and the Essentials was a suggested option writing program to use. I was con-
    cerned about the portions you said were alittle confusing or incomplete and wondered
    what grammar program you had decided to supplement? I’v heard the IEW was also a good
    writing program, but was more teacher led and the Winston Grammar was also good, what
    is your take on these?

    My 10th grader loves writing, but I know is lacking in some of the basics She’s been taking
    the Write Shop 1 class. Did you do a placement test for your son or just decide to choose
    where you wanted him to start?

    Thanks so much for any feedback, I so appreciate it!

    Lindsay Wilder (971-241-5011)

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

