Blogging Through the Alphabet ~ “A” for Ameliorate

Blogging Through the Alphabet

Joining up with Marcy over at Ben & Me for “Blogging through the Alphabet” and super excited to do so!

Let me tell you this is NOT what I was originally going to post but I was up quite a bit of the night with acid reflux (another “A” word – woot!) and early this morning the Lord brought a VERY comforting and refreshing thought to my mind…this post is what He shared with me.

I will start with the word “ameliorate”. Ever heard of it before? I hadn’t either, but I was looking for an “A” word that might allow me to share this post with you today as we start Blogging through the Alphabet. So, using a thesaurus I started with the word “improvement” then went to “advancement” and ended with “ameliorate.”

Ameliorate means to make or become better, more bearable, or more satisfactory.

Let me give you a little background. I wrote a post not long ago “Does anyone hear her?” which brought about a pretty nasty situation with someone close to me…they didn’t appreciate that post. Some serious words were shared by this person in complete judgement of the person I am. OUCH! This sent me in to a serious whirlwind of “who am I?”. This blog post is something the Lord brought to my heart this morning in answer to this question.

I’ve shared in several instances that I was not raised in a Christian home with Christian values. As a matter of fact, we had no values. I was raised to “throw it away and buy another one”. Fix it were words I never heard. Along with many others, I’m afraid.

So as I was laying in bed this morning, the Lord brought the following memories to mind:

  • I got my first savings account at the age of 13, by myself.
  • I got my first real job as a hostess at a restaurant when I was 14. I continued to go to school. I rode my bike to work most days.
  • I moved out when I was 17 – before I graduated High School – to live with my boyfriend at the time.
  • I bought my first BRAND NEW car when I was 17, by myself.

My question, and maybe yours too…where was my mother during these VERY IMPORTANT life events? [My parents got divorced when I was two.] Unfortunately I cannot answer this question…she was never really involved in our lives.

So, THE LORD’S BLESSING TO ME THIS MORNING…even though this person said all these terrible things to / about me…AMELIORATE is a word that describes ME. ME! I am NOT perfect (I have NEVER claimed to be) but oh my goodness I am a MUCH BETTER mother than I had! (All thanks to Him, seriously.) WOW! NO COMPARISON!

  • I am – and have been – there for my boys for important moments (and even “non-important” moments) of their lives.
  • I was there with my son when he opened a savings account.
  • I am there EVERY DAY talking to my boys about life and CHRIST.
  • I would NEVER imagine ANY of the above happening to them. NEVER. If it did, I would be devastated.

So I am here, THANKING THE LORD today for His words bringing peace to my heart. I cannot tell you what this meant to me. I have (and am) trying SO HARD to be a good mother…the Lord has shown me that although I am not perfect – my heart is in the right place. And WITH HIM, we (I) will continue to ameliorate.

THANK YOU LORD!

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

 

9 thoughts on “Blogging Through the Alphabet ~ “A” for Ameliorate

  1. Blossom March 18, 2013 at 7:09 am Reply

    You are a wonderful person, Dawn! Maybe not perfect, but you are washed in the blood of the Lamb and you are as white as snow to God! You are indeed ameliorate.

    I went back to read the other post (I missed it when it was originally posted) and my, my heart just about ripped in two! For you and for that family from long ago.

    I’m reminded of a verse but at this exact moment I do not know it’s location: do not grow weary. And then in Job 23:10- you shall be tried in the fire and come forth as gold. God knows you. Your boys and husband know you.

    I know it’s lonely sometimes. Just keep the eyes on Christ. (as you do, I know) {HUGS}

    Like

  2. Sarah Bailey March 18, 2013 at 7:34 am Reply

    Well done and beautiful post Dawn. I second what Blossom said. I too have had to deal with things from my past, a mom who was there but not really there KWIM? growing up I often thought it’d be better if she wasn’t there but she’s become a good mom and a wonderful Grandma – now. I think the Lord is always making us more satisfactory 🙂 it’s only through Him we can become bearable and bear up. The more I read on your blog, the more excited I am to put a real face with the name behind it!

    Like

  3. […] I have to say you should really read Dawn’s post using her ‘a’ word over at Guiding Light Homeschool – it’s […]

    Like

  4. Deanne March 18, 2013 at 10:02 am Reply

    Great post! Thanks for enriching my vocabulary. It brought another word to mind: sanctification. Easton’s Bible dictionary says, “sanctification is the carrying on to perfection the work begun in regeneration, and it extends to the whole man.”

    Like

  5. Brittney March 18, 2013 at 1:10 pm Reply

    What an encouraging post! I truly believe you are washed white as snow, and will continue to grow everyday with Him!

    Like

  6. Deborah Pucci March 18, 2013 at 5:36 pm Reply

    I’ve never heard that word before. Very interesting. Amazing what you did all by yourself when you were so young.

    Like

  7. Our Country Road March 19, 2013 at 11:43 am Reply

    LOVE!! The post, the word, and you :).

    Like

  8. Jen March 19, 2013 at 1:59 pm Reply

    Love this Dawn! I had never heard of the word but am glad you found it today. The Lord sure works in awesome ways.. doesn’t He? 🙂

    Like

  9. Laura @ Four Little Penguins March 19, 2013 at 10:27 pm Reply

    Good post! God does wonderful things with us and through us when we step back and let him!

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

