Healthy Living ~ LOTS to Digest

 photo FoodVariety_zps0d2ee823.jpg

Healthy living. Do those two words bring fear or peace? For me they bring both. I am learning a lot of different things but it is very overpowering. There is SO MUCH to learn. And so many different opinions. Overall, I want to lose weight but I want to do it in a realistic manner. I know we need to change some of the ways we eat but it needs to be realistic – because if it isn’t…the weight will just come back at some point. So…this is my struggle. Have you been there? What did YOU do?

I have purchased and read quite a bit of Trim Healthy Mama and although I learned A LOT about how the body processes food, etc. it doesn’t appear “the plan” is going to work for our family – there is just too much “special stuff”. I NEED real. [I am NOT “knocking” this program. I know many who are enjoying it! I’m just saying it isn’t for us.] And…even if you don’t end up following their eating plan, the information in the book is well worth the purchase, in my opinion.

Our five year old is our “Highly Spirited” child (click on that and you can read some very helpful, hopefully refreshing posts I’ve written about “Highly Spirited”). Many have shared that the removal of wheat from their diet has helped. I have had this on my mind for some time but have not tried it yet. Have you? Have you seen any improvement?

We did remove all dyes (or as much as possible – occasionally we let one slide, and pay for it) from his diet and we saw an immediate improvement. This actually is what started it all…the day I found out the FDA is okay with red dye being in products, especially those kids eat, KNOWING that kids have ADD / ADHA type symptoms from having it. So much for their watching out for our best interest. That’s when I found out that it’s really all about money…and very little about OUR health. Ok, stepping off my soapbox and getting back to the point of the post.

Have you found anything that is “normal” and “realistic” and “life-long” that is working for you and your family?

I have also quickly looked over (because a friend loaned it to me from her Kindle to mine) the book Vintage Remedies Guide to Bread which tells how things used to be done compared to how they are done now…basically all the nutrition has been removed and it’s just something to put in your body. YUCK! My thought is…because I’m trying to lose weight...if there isn’t anything “in it / there” I’m not wasting the calories! 😉

I have several friends who have recommended the Ninja blender. Do you have one? What do you use it for? It is apparently similar to the VitaMix but significantly cheaper, which is very important to our family. We don’t eat a lot of soups because I have acid reflux and I don’t like a lot of spices, etc. but apparently these blenders can make homemade soup…could be a possibility for us. Not sure yet.

 photo RealFoodNutrition_zps9a6724c4.png

One of my most favorite books I’ve read so far is by Food Renegade called Real Food Nutrition and Health. I would put it in the same category of learning A LOT about how the body processes things as Trim Healthy Mama (actually I would put it a step above) but it doesn’t have all the recipes and it isn’t “a plan”. I did sign up for her online class when she had a great sale but we haven’t gone through it yet (it is life-long so we don’t have to rush to do it, we can do it on our time, which I greatly appreciate).

Overall, I guess I am just researching and learning and looking and reading and processing all I can about as many different areas as I can. Again, I am looking for realistic. What have you found? What resources would you recommend?

So far the one thing I have learned overall – it DOES matter what we put in our bodies.

Stay tuned for the next post…exercising. Blah! 😉

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged: ,

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

