Forgiveness & Grace

Forgiveness and grace have been on my mind recently due to a situation that came about because of my Does Anyone Hear Her? post. This person didn’t feel it was correct, and that I should redo it to how they see things. Additionally the manner with which this was shared was less than desirable.

Although I felt I handled the situation with this person EXTREMELY well (especially for me…boy has the Lord changed me!), I didn’t handle the ENTIRE situation as good as I would have liked. Mostly, I made some “knee-jerk reactions” that had a bit of a ripple effect. Good in the fact that it showed me where I still have some work to do but negative in the fact that many others were affected too.

Anyway, back to what this post is supposed to be about. 😉 (Did you see that squirrel run by? LOL) My first reaction to the emails I received after the post was irritation, frustration and anger. How dare someone tell me how I should feel and what I should share. {Claws coming out.}

 photo AngryFace_zps202231a3.jpg

But then the Lord said, “Wait.” I’m thankful I did. Waiting allowed me to step back and then respond in a more Christ like manner. Although my husband said, “You were more blunt than I would have been.” It was still HUGE PROGRESS for me. And to the Lord I am most thankful!

I said, “I will guard my ways,
Lest I sin with my tongue;
I will restrain my mouth with a muzzle,
While the wicked are before me.” Psalm 39:1

The entire situation has shown me how the Lord has grown me in forgiveness and grace. Two ESSENTIALS for this life. Did you know that the word “grace” is listed in the NKJV 145 times? That’s quite a few! Think the Lord wants us to pay attention? I think so too!

Let no corrupt word proceed out of your mouth, but what is good for necessary edification, that it may impart grace to the hearers. Ephesians 4:29

 photo Calm_zps00528ffe.jpg

So, although I know I have more progress to make, with His help, I overall was excited about the changes in me through Him. I will say, though, that although forgiveness has been extended…forgetting has been another thing altogether. But, with His help, I am making it through that as well. What do I do? I do NOT focus on “the problem” but on Him. I do not play it over and over in my head. I focus on Him. So many things I used to do / would have done are things the Lord has “relieved me of” and taken from me, my mind and my heart. So many things to be thankful for. He is SO GOOD! So…if you think He can’t change you…try Him, I bet (eventually) He can!

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged:

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

