Book Review & Giveaway ~ Personal Discipline: A Biblical Study of Self-Control & Perseverance by Rhonda H. Kelly

 photo PersonalDiscipline_zps196cdd5d.jpg

I was attracted to this Bible Study because “Personal Discipline” is an area I need to work on. I was not raised to “wait”. I was raised to “throw it away and buy new”. Things like that. So I thought this would be something good for me to check out.

The study involves twelve lessons such as: The Importance of Discipline, My Own Willpower for Discipline, Supernatural Godpower for Discipline and Self-Control and Other Disciplines. Each Lesson closes with “My Personal Discipline” allowing you to chart your thoughts. The study guide is 174 pages.

It is laid out like most Bible study guides with some sharing, looking up of Scriptures and writing your responses.

A few of the things that stuck out to me in the guide where:

It is not good enough for the believer to cease to do evil. The believer must also learn to do good.

You must diligently seek to develop divine discipline more than human discipline.

Persistence in faith is a source of personal strength and a witness to the world.

It has been said that “it takes five compliments to erase a criticism.” How true! We remember unkind comments for a long time.

The promises of God are great! While we cannot always depend on the commitment of others, the promises of God are trustworthy.

You can read about the author, Dr. Rhonda H. Kelly, by clicking HERE. (She has an impressive list of things!)

If you are looking to study about self-control and perseverance, I would highly suggest this study. You can purchase your own copy HERE or you can enter my giveaway below!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Disclosure: I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. No compensation was received. All opinions are my own.

Tagged: , ,

5 thoughts on “Book Review & Giveaway ~ Personal Discipline: A Biblical Study of Self-Control & Perseverance by Rhonda H. Kelly

  1. Regina March 2, 2013 at 12:03 pm Reply

    I really need to get back on track and I feel like this would help.
    tarter95 at hotmail dot com

    Like

  2. Jackie Betancourt March 2, 2013 at 12:03 pm Reply

    Thanks for sharing this, Dawn. I’m looking forward to reading this as well!

    Like

  3. Emilee March 3, 2013 at 2:47 am Reply

    I also have a chalenge with personal discipline, so the entire aspect of the book appeals to me!

    Like

  4. Gianna March 5, 2013 at 7:26 pm Reply

    It sounds like an interesting read.

    Like

  5. football August 28, 2014 at 2:12 pm Reply

    Many years ago, Net sports activities book betting was risky.
    Do you wear your own football package when actively playing football along with friends on the park or even wear your shirt casually around town or perhaps
    is this your ritual to wear your groups colors when going down to the pub.
    Among those that came out in the wish list is a better line
    play, addition of team entrances, and crowd atmosphere.

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

