Thankful Thursday ~ 2/28/13

I was thinking it might be good to simply do a post of a bunch of the blessings we have received lately. There has been SO MUCH going on (both “good” and “bad”) that I haven’t had much time for “fun blogging”. So…here we go:

** Wish I had a better memory for exact dates, but I don’t! A little over a month ago (I think?) our car left us, as a family, stranded on the side of a country road on the way to church. We called for help and got some – but our car was officially dead. {Sad day.} We are a family of little income so we weren’t sure how becoming a “one car family” was going to work (especially when our one vehlicle has 225,000 miles on it). But the Lord, again and as usual, provided for our needs with a car that runs and was within our budget. We were able to get a running vehicle for $500! Amazing! Below is a picture. It isn’t perfect but it runs and looks pretty good too and for that we are super thankful! (This pic is from the night we first got it – we took it straight to my father-in-law so he could check it over.)

 photo CarFront_zps562ee7bc.jpg

 

** This one seems so very small but it was an answer to prayer and that makes me feel so secure in His loving arms! I have read recently that doing martial arts can be a very good thing for “highly spirited children” and exercise and getting out of the house are ALWAYS good things for boys. So, I was researching options. The main option I was looking at was classes at the Y which is about 30 minutes away and would cost $70 as a non-member for a 6-week class. Well, I was tossing the idea around when I received an email about a HOMESCHOOL martial arts class. The cost – $50 for one and $25 for each additional sibling. TWO ONE-HOUR classes a week for 10-weeks. (A little further away than the Y but not enough to worry about.) AWESOME! Isn’t the Lord just absolutely amazing!

** Our TV is older and has been working / not working as it so desires for a few months now. We were finally able to get a new one. It is refurbished and definitely not “the top of the line” but man are we happy to have been able to get a new TV (bigger and better than our old one) for under $200!

** I was chatting on Facebook about books people recommended and the one I was considering getting my husband remembered I had already purchased! (Again, a “small one” but meant SO MUCH to me!)

** The Lord blessed me with THREE letters of encouragement on the same day – a day after I had just shared about what a “terrible person I am” (not exactly, but sort of). I felt it was the Lord’s way of letting me know I am not as bad as I think I am. (Thanks ladies!) Below is a pic of one of the items I received from my friend over at North Laurel Home & School.

 photo Blessing_zpsd85f66d8.jpg

 

** I was able to get some Tupperware items for 65% off in celebration of their 65th Anniversary. Still waiting for it to arrive, but SUPER EXCITED to get such good product on sale!

** I bought a Kindle book that had GREAT reviews (like 85 out of 105 were 5 stars). I started reading it and QUICKLY realized it was NOT going to be a book for me. Went to remove it from my Kindle and saw “Return for Refund” so I clicked it – and it worked! I was SO THANKFUL!

** Through some recent “family trials” I have been pushed to take additional steps to make sure my mental & spiritual health is taken care of. Without that I am no good to anyone. Last month the Lord provided a Christian weight-loss group (similar to Weight Watchers but doesn’t cost and is based off being a well-rounded person through Christ). This is providing an additional place for me to get some of the necessary “female connecting” I am much in need of!

** And last, but not least, I am SO THANKFUL today is Thursday as that means I have the next three days (evenings) off work. YAHOO!

I’m sure there are MANY I am forgetting but at least here are a few to share. I pray they have blessed your day and brought a smile to your face.

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

4 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday ~ 2/28/13

  1. Jen February 28, 2013 at 2:58 pm Reply

    Love your post today! We do have so much to be thankful for!!!

    Like

  2. Jenn Kasprzak February 28, 2013 at 3:07 pm Reply

    I am glad I was one of those blessings that day, you have touched me in your posts lately and I want you to know I am blessed to have you as a friend and you are more than just a good person. You are powerful, Godly woman and you should stand proud in that.

    Like

    • Dawn March 2, 2013 at 5:46 pm Reply

      Thank you Jenn!

      Like

  3. LIsa McClanahan February 28, 2013 at 11:54 pm Reply

    There are so many things in life to be thankful for, as long as we take the time to recognize them.

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

