Does Anyone Hear Her? Part 1

 photo SadFace_zps0b3807c1.jpg

Some things have been going on lately that have brought a very sad event from many years ago back to my mind – back in a way that I hadn’t been able to see previously. Back in a way that is bringing me great sorrow.

Many years ago, not long after I got saved, I lived next to a family that had A LOT of children (I don’t remember how many). This family attended the same church I did. At this time, I was a single mother working a full-time job driving an hour to and from work every day – struggling to survive.

I don’t know how many times I would look out my side window and see their little 18 month old baby boy walking in the field by himself with only his diaper on.

One very sad day, this little boy got hit by a train on the tracks that were just behind our houses. He died. This was a devastating event for many people, of course. But one of the things I remember the most is some of the women talking as we were at their (the family that lost the baby) house helping clean, etc. Apparently this mother had asked several people for help. She had shared with many that she was feeling like she couldn’t handle it all.

 photo Overwhelmed_zpsa91a353b.jpg

And what did others from the church do? NOTHING. And what happened, in the end? This little baby died.

Instead of helping her – they judged her. Is this what being a Christian is?

This is exactly what I’m feeling lately.

Have you heard the song, “Does Anyone Hear Her?” by Casting Crowns? I have loved this song for a very long time – and it explains quite a bit of this post…we, as Christians, are told in Scripture to help others…are we doing our part? Or are we judging and standing back pretending as if we don’t see?

I have reached out in MANY different ways over the last six years…but no one has reached back…it brings GREAT sadness to my heart.

 photo hand_zps3ff7a0d2.jpg

What is one to do when all they get are brick walls? This is what I am talking with the Lord about now. But PLEASE, I am *BEGGING* you…if someone reaches out to you – TAKE THEIR HAND.

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

6 thoughts on “Does Anyone Hear Her? Part 1

  1. Deborah Pucci February 17, 2013 at 3:14 pm Reply

    That is a very sad story and I’m sorry no one helped her.
    Thank you for sharing this song, it is very good. ((HUGS))

    Like

  2. Debbie February 17, 2013 at 3:21 pm Reply

    I understand your pain Dawn. I could give you a long drawn out story about us that would show you, but that would not encourage you at all. You are in my prayers. If there is anything else I can do for you please send me a private message on Facebook or e-mail me. I wish I could be there right now to reach out a hand to you, pull you in, and give you a hug. I pray God’s blessing on you and your family.

    Like

  3. Charity February 17, 2013 at 5:53 pm Reply

    Thanks for sharing this with us! I don’t mean to make excuses but life gets really busy for all of us and sometimes we don’t realize how desperately someone needed help until it is too late, like in the case of this little boy’s death. I hope to be better about taking someone’s hand when they reach out for help!
    Charity

    Like

  4. Jenni Allen February 18, 2013 at 3:32 pm Reply

    I am sending you a virtual hug. Keep on reaching out and crying out to Jesus. He will send you help from above. I recently read a wonderful book that may speak to you during this time. You can read my review at the link below. It really spoke to me about connecting with younger moms and finding an older mom as a mentor.
    http://conversaving.com/2013/01/07/desperate-hope-for-the-mom-who-needs-to-breathe-a-review/

    Like

  5. Deborah February 18, 2013 at 3:51 pm Reply

    I think a lot of mums call out for help at some point in their mothering journey. And yes, it’s true our culture and society do not hear and do not help.

    Our focus as older / Godly women has shifted from serving to self seeking, and lifestyle. As a general rule we no longer recognize the true path. This in turn has had a domino effect on subsequent generations where a tragedy like this ends up happening.

    Just some thoughts. I got more, but I don’t want to digress.

    Like

  6. Jen February 19, 2013 at 11:12 am Reply

    That song hits hard every time I hear it. You are so right. We need to start reaching out and grabbing those hands that are held out.

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

