Schoolhouse Review ~ Flowering Baby (4 – 5 years)

Photobucket

DO NOT LET THE NAME FOOL YOU! ūüėČ I have a boy and Flowering Baby is perfectly acceptable work for him. *grin* And actually, the person who made this has a SON!, so the work is actually shared in the male tense. (I found this interesting.) Their curriculum covers birth to age five. I received a CD of both Three to Four Years and Four to Five Years – my review is focused on¬†Vol. 5: Four to Five Years. (If you click the link and go to the bottom of the page, you can see a FREE one month sample.) This cost for this cd is $38.

Photobucket

Interesting thought they shared: research suggests that morning (9 – 11am) is best for short term memory and afternoon (12 – 2pm) is best for long term memory work. I’ve never heard that before and thought it was very interesting. (I have NOT investigated it to find out if it is “true” or not…)

The curriculum is sorted in to two different “areas” – monthly and themed.

Each month contains 10 – 15 days of activities, to be done throughout the month as convenient for each family. For normal children (of which mine is not *grin*), they say the daily activities will take 30 – 45 minutes (my son goes MUCH faster…but that’s typical…he does that with EVERY.THING.). Each day has you sing the ABC song, work on Math, reading a book, doing music and playing learning games. Additionally ~ colors, Spanish and learning important things like 911, your phone number and other safety tips are worked on.

Here are a few pictures of his work:

He was supposed to color a picture using different colors of blue (you provide your own picture and I thought using something with “A” was good since we also covered the letter A)…

 photo Angel_zps2bca338a.jpg

Working on counting…

 photo Cheerios_zpsdd30c8f8.jpg

This is a “board” I had already that I incorporated in to our learning and working on numbers.

 photo Numbers_zps6e06264e.jpg

It is suggested that you do one or two “themed curriculum” each month. Each month has approximately six days of¬†activities.¬† Most months correspond to that particular time of year, which is laid out for you. For example: January has Aquarium & Arctic Life and ¬†Dinosaurs. May has Flowers and Bodies of Water (oceans, lakes, rivers). November has Pets and Pilgrams & Thanksgiving.

Here is some fun we had with the Dinosaur theme (I had the egg already purchased and waiting for a time such as this!):

 photo DinoEgg1_zps310765e3.jpg

 photo DinoEgg2_zps0cacfbf7.jpg

 photo DinoEgg3_zps8d628f2f.jpg

The “themed curriculum” is broken down by theme providing activities for the days, a suggested reading list (most of which I was able to get from our local library), a supply list (most using items you will easily have on hand), suggested websites, fun activities and closes with possible questions to ask. Each day involves reading then some sort of¬†hands-on activities. This works out WONDERFULLY for my son who has a VERY hard time sitting still for any length of time.

Since I also received the 3-4 year old curriculum, I would like to share a little about the similarities and differences between these two. Please keep in mind that I did not WORK with the 3-4 year old items, I am only stating what I see. For the most part the monthly curriculum is very much the same. The younger teaches things like lower & upper case recognition, counting to 10, learning shapes, math is done thru “real life” (counting to birthdays, etc). One major difference is that the younger curriculum actually has suggested music cds whereas the older simply suggests to listen to something. The themed curriculum is identical.

I do feel it is important to mention that some of the books on her suggested reading list are NOT young earth. This is always important to us so I want to make sure I share that information. However, this doesn’t show up within the curriculum so no worries there.

This is a “complete curriculum” in that it either offers something for the main subjects directly – or makes suggestions of what to use. For instance, it was suggested to use Christian Liberty Nature Readers for Science. I personally had never heard of these before, so I asked around. I got such WONDERFUL responses that I “rushed out” and bought several for our use. They have proved to be an EXCELLENT addition to our schooling…I have this curriculum review to thank for that!

If you would like to order your own Flowering Baby curriculum, they are offering my readers a 10% discount by using code “Blog10” when ordering.

Make sure to check out all the other wonderful Crew reviews by clicking on the banner below:

Photobucket

Here’s praying you have fun learning!

 

 

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this product through the Schoolhouse Review Crew in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. All opinions I have expressed are my own or those of my family. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations.

Tagged: , ,

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

