Parental Controls

 photo Eyes_zpsb7d34a6c.jpg

Parental controls are a pretty hot topic this day in age. There are SO MANY dangers out there for our children. The internet is an AWESOME tool, but it can also be a weapon of the enemy. There are several things a family can do to minimize some of the threats – like putting the computer in the main room of the house, which we have done. However, that doesn’t stop the bad pictures, etc. that can pop up from searches, etc. So, that is when one needs to look to parental controls for technology. This is something I *FINALLY* got around to doing.

There are many options for parental controls – some free, some not. So, I asked around (as I often do with things I am not familiar with). From that, I had some good pay options offered: Safe Eyes and Covenant Eyes.

However, I chose to try a couple of FREE options that even MORE people recommended. There were TWO offered, and suggested to be used together. So, last week I downloaded them both and have been messing with the settings trying to get them “just right” for our family.

One of the things I wanted was control over ALL WiFi items in our home, not just computers. Additionally, I wasn’t interested in different options for different people – I just want one option for everyone. NONE of us need to see particular things.

OpenDNS was the first one that was recommended and K9 Web Protection was the second. Like I said, they are suggested to be used together. That way if something gets through the first one, it is stopped by the second one. Making  changes to what is allowed and what isn’t allowed is EXTREMELY easy (password protected so only the Admin can make changes) and happen within just a few minutes (or less). Quite honestly, I am STILL trying to get them set up so I can still do what I need to do for blogging and reviews while still protecting the family but I feel much better than I did before we had anything in place.

Both have “generic settings” of low, medium and high as well as a “custom” option where you can pick specifically by category or topic. Additionally, picking particular websites to allow or block is offered. They both do make it VERY easy, which is nice! Both also offer logs so you can view what has been done. Nice!

Here is a picture of OpenDNS custom options:

 photo Options_zps2a20beba.jpg

If you are looking for parental controls (which I suggest for EVERYONE with internet access) – I would HIGHLY suggest these two. They have worked VERY well for our family so far.

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

3 thoughts on “Parental Controls

  1. Lisa McClanahan February 12, 2013 at 12:25 pm Reply

    I should check into these for our wifi. I am all for free!

    Like

  2. Brittney February 12, 2013 at 5:28 pm Reply

    Great article! I need to look into these too!!

    Like

  3. Jen February 12, 2013 at 6:25 pm Reply

    These look great! Thanks for sharing! I’ll have to check those out.

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

