Marriage Monday ~ Commitment in Marriage ~ 1/28/13

Photobucket

 This meme is hosted by Chrysalis Cafe.

WOW! It has been over a year since I linked up with Marriage Monday. WOW! Glad to be back!

This round has to do with commitment in marriage. Such a wonderful and IMPORTANT topic! To me commitment in marriage covers what is on the inside as well as what is on the outside. What do I mean? Well, I think it has to do with the heart and the MIND as well as where our eyes / minds linger along with the clothes we wear. In my opinion, this is a HUGE topic with A LOT of areas that may seem “simple” or “small” but often bad things happen one small step at a time. So, for me, I choose to stop at the very beginning and not even take “the first step”.

For me, I choose not to watch shows that have men with little clothes on or things like that. My husband does the same – he is VERY sensitive to what he sees. He will immediately look away if something is inappropriate – that makes my heart soar knowing he cares enough (for me and our relationship) to look away! I also dress very modestly (which I have done most of my life – even before I was a Christian). There is only one man I want to impress and only one man’s eyes that I want looking my way. This is also a respect thing for other women – I want their husband’s eyes only looking at them.

I believe it is important not to speak negatively of my husband to others. Ever. I’m still working on this but it is becoming much easier as time goes. It is a respect thing. It seems small but is really quite a big thing. Don’t believe me? Try to stop. *grin*

I definitely do not want to leave Scripture out of this as it is THE MOST IMPORTANT (which I believe all the above is covered in Scripture but this is direct). My husband and I are committed to our marriage. DIVORCE IS NOT AN OPTION. It is quite amazing how this thinking changes the actions one takes. And thoughts are on eternity, not just today or tomorrow.

As one who got divorced before she got saved and one who was not raised in a Christian home, I can say that the things I have mentioned are hard work – they are not things that come naturally to our sinful nature. However, I will also say that they have been a HUGE blessing to my commitment to my marriage.

I have also linked this post to:
”Upside

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged:

6 thoughts on “Marriage Monday ~ Commitment in Marriage ~ 1/28/13

  1. denise January 28, 2013 at 9:35 am Reply

    Appreciate your honesty.

    Like

  2. Beth January 28, 2013 at 11:30 am Reply

    I think you bring up some really important practices that strengthen our commitment in marriage, Dawn. I’m right there with you on all of them! Thanks for being so vulnerable and sharing your hard-fought wisdom.

    Like

  3. e-Mom January 28, 2013 at 8:23 pm Reply

    This is a wonderful post! I agree: Keeping our marriage strong and committed takes work, including guarding our thought life.

    I love this too: It is quite amazing how this thinking changes the actions one takes. And thoughts are on eternity, not just today or tomorrow. Yes, focussing on eternal things tends to put our troubles/concerns for today in proper perspective.

    Glad to have you back, Dawn! Thanks for joining us for Marriage Monday today.

    Blessings, e-Mom ღ

    Like

  4. Tami Boesiger January 28, 2013 at 9:40 pm Reply

    I love how God gently teaches us the hard way leads to blessing. I’m glad you’ve experienced it first hand and can say the hard work was worth it.

    Like

  5. Connie Hopkins January 29, 2013 at 11:04 am Reply

    Welcome back!

    I appreciate your modesty standard. I have been around other women who have dressed provocatively (intentionally and unintentionally) and how emboldened they are when it comes to flaunting it. Respect is one of those cornerstones in marriage. When asked to give out marriage advice at bridal showers I ALWAYS talk about respect! I know that if my Hub ran me down in front of others I would become resentful towards him, the opposite would hold true as well. Knowing that I am respected and valued in our relationship encourages me to be more generous in every aspect of our relationship! Looking forward to your participation again!
    Connie

    Like

  6. Julie Arduini February 5, 2013 at 11:02 am Reply

    It’s so important to not speak negatively, and I’ve definitely fallen in that area. What a great post!

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

