Wednesday Hodgepodge ~ 1/23/13

1.   The popular saying ‘All is fair in love and war‘ is originally credited to English writer John Lyly.  Is he right?

I don’t think anything ever seems fair in love and war. I think everyone gets caught up in “me, myself and I” and totally forgets the other person/people.

2. Are you a cereal eater?  What’s your favorite kind?

YES! (But not for breakfast. LOL) I like frosted wheat or round (like cheerios) but lightly sweetened. [We shop at Aldi and the names of both escape me at the moment.] There are others I like (Grape Nuts) but they prove to not like me back. 😉

3. A five year old in Pennsylvania was recently given a ten day school suspension for talking with a friend about shooting one another with a Hello Kitty Bubble gun (the toy blows bubbles).  She did not have the gun with her at school.

A psychological evaluation was also ordered and the incident was recorded on her permanent record.  The suspension was later reduced to two days and her parents are suing to have the incident removed from her file. Your thoughts? (If you missed the story, click here for details)

I haven’t heard about it and didn’t “click here” for details but it sounds absurd to me.

4. Whatever happened to_______________________?

Caring about other people. We are in such a “me, me, me” society that we have totally forgotten about others.

5. January 23rd is National Handwriting Day, billed as a day to reacquaint yourself with a pen and pencil.  Do you like your handwriting?  Do you prefer to print or write in cursive?  This date was chosen because its the birth date of John Hancock.  What’s the last thing you signed your name to?

My handwriting is very interesting. It changes from line to line. I guess my hand gets tired so I move my fingers therefore changing the way it looks. It has been this way since way back in my school days (I remember one teacher remarking about it). Depending on which way I am writing, some times I like the way I write.

I write using a mixture of print and cursive.

The last thing I signed my name to was a check to a friend for Sally Clarkson’s new book Desperate. I have started a Secret FB group and will be joining in on the online book study that starts on the 29th. Excited! And it is funny that a check is the last thing I signed as I don’t normally ever write checks anymore…debit cards are awesome!

6.  Speaking of John Hancock, ever been to Philadelphia?  Do you have any desire to visit the city of Brotherly Love?

Nope. And nope.

7. Share something funny you’ve heard a child say.

Just last night our youngest, looking at a Bible, said: Look! My name is in there, with “ians”. (Like Philippians) ha ha ha

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Apparently I am too tired for random thoughts this morning. So sorry…

Head over to “Wednesday Hodgepodge” posted over at  From The Side of the Pond to read more thoughts on these questions…

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

4 thoughts on “Wednesday Hodgepodge ~ 1/23/13

  1. Joyce January 23, 2013 at 7:15 am Reply

    I rarely write checks either but had the same answer. I’m loving the cute kid stories today!

    Like

  2. Wayne January 23, 2013 at 7:21 am Reply

    I use a mix of printing and cursive too…

    Like

  3. Josanne January 23, 2013 at 8:42 am Reply

    Yes, definitely a “me me me” society. Sad, especially when it affects marriage and children.
    Kids say the cutest things! =)
    Have a great day!

    Like

  4. April January 23, 2013 at 8:48 am Reply

    I second that…we do live in a “me me me” society anymore. There just seems to be a complete lack of empathy.

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

