Virtual Curriculum Fair ~ Exploring Our World: Biology

Photobucket

I am excited to link up with Homeschooling Hearts and Minds, and several other bloggers, for another Virtual Curriculum Fair! This week is “Exploring Our World”. I have been wanting to blog about our Science fun for quite some time so I am super happy I get to it now!

We are having a TON OF FUN working through Apologia Biology this year! Plans didn’t work out exactly as planned (hard to believe, I know).

So, with our microscope and slides in hand…we have brought Science to life! Literally.

 photo VCF1_zpsf5efdf62.jpg

 photo VCF2_zps69eac8d0.jpg

 photo VCF3_zps123ee32c.jpg

 photo VCF5_zpsa20fdb6c.jpg

 photo VCF4_zps2b9e0f0c.jpg

For anyone who is wondering if getting the microscope is worth it – I say “YES!” (I’m really glad I got a good one at a good price!) Do some checking around but having our microscope and doing the experiments has really changed our Science experience! [I was one who wondered if it was worth it…I here to say I wouldn’t do it without this experience!]

And then, there are other experiments that don’t need the microscope, that are just plain cool! (This is an egg – REALLY!)

 photo VCF6_zpsa6a33753.jpg

Now head over and see what the others who linked up had to say…


Exploring Eastern Cultures with Sonlight
by Susan @ Homeschooling Hearts & Minds

Cell Unit Study – Mitochondria and Energy by Julie
@ Highhill Education

Our Blended Social Studies by Christy @ Unexpected Homeschool

2013 Virtual Curriculum Fair-Exploring Our World:
Social Studies and more Science
by Leah C @ As We Walk
Along the Road

Exploring Canada by Annette @ A
Net In Time

Project Passport: The Middle Ages by Missouri Mama
@ Ozark Ramblings

Virtual Curriculum Fair- Exploring Our World by
Karyn @ Teach Beside Me

Our Absolutely Positively Favorite History
Curriculum Ever
by Wendy @ Homeschooling Blessings

Science: learning to use what you are given by
Piwi Mama @ Learning & Growing the Piwi Way

Historical Significance by Kristi @ The
Potter’s Hand Academy

How We Are Exploring Our World as Homechoolers by
Laura O in AK @ Day by Day in Our World

VCF: Week 3 The Social Sciences by Lisa @
Golden
Grasses

A Trip Around the World: Homeschool-Style by
Nicole @ Schooling in the Sun

Virtual Curriculum Fair ~ Exploring Our World: Biology by Dawn @ Guiding Light Homeschool

Virtual Curriculum Fair: Learning about our
World
by Joelle @ Homeschooling for His Glory

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged: ,

4 thoughts on “Virtual Curriculum Fair ~ Exploring Our World: Biology

  1. […] Virtual Curriculum Fair ~ Exploring Our World: Biology by Dawn @ Guiding Light Homeschool […]

    Like

  2. Kristi January 21, 2013 at 10:29 pm Reply

    I loved the microscopic studies when I was in high school, and I’m SO excited to start sharing them with my kids when they’re ready!! Thanks so much for sharing!

    Like

  3. […] Virtual Curriculum Fair ~ Exploring Our World: Biology by Dawn @ Guiding Light Homeschool […]

    Like

  4. Susan @Homeschooling Hearts & Minds January 23, 2013 at 8:59 pm Reply

    Yes, microscopes are worth it…how else can you see the building blocks of life. Fascinating stuff. My Dad was a bit of a science geek and I have his old microscope (one of my prized possessions, and it saw a lot of use—I remember him showing me slides when I was a kid).

    Thank you for sharing with the Virtual Curriculum Fair.

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

