5 Weeks, 5 Disciplines, 5 Challenges ~ Time Management

Photobucket

It’s accountability time – WOOT! So…did I read my Bible every day before getting on the computer? YES, I DID! YAY! I *so* love that…and pray it continues!

This week our challenge has to do with time management. HA! Two very scary words, right? But as homeschooling Chrisitan mom’s our time is not our own and this is very important. (Sounds like I know what I’m talking about right? Well, I don’t!) Time management is a VERY difficult thing for me. One of my big issues is this (can anyone relate?):

I go to put something in the trash and see a pile of clothes so I put down the trash and grab the clothes. As I’m walking to the bedroom to put the clothes away I see a toy on the floor so I set the clothes down and pick up the toy…yada yada yada…

Ok, it’s not really THAT bad (most days) but you get my drift.

Personally, I haven’t figured out how to “plan a day” with a young one around…I can’t have a complete thought, let alone accomplishment! One thing I have figured out…I need to curb doing every little request of his every little second. I think I could accomplish a lot more if I wasn’t getting him something to eat or drink about seven hundred times a day. (He’ll take one or two bites of something and then be done with it.) I am so.done.with.that! But because he hardly ate in his younger years (he’s only four now) we got in the habit of giving him whatever he wanted when he wanted it so at least he would eat SOMETHING during the day. Well, he’s old enough now that it is time for him to learn to eat more of his food during meals and to eat more of his (fewer allowed) snacks during the day.

Additionally, besides the “normal stuff” of home (boys, homeschooling, clothes, dishes, dogs, cats, etc) I work for two people / companies from home part-time and I work part-time for the local library. So, add that to my pile of “to-do” and it gets a little hectic. (Not to mention that the two from home jobs have folks that seem to have time management issues too. LOL) I also recently got a treadmill and have been adding that into my schedule. (Well, and our riding mower wasn’t working so I actually was push mowing the yard every day for more than 20 minutes…but now that the rider is fixed, I will be back on the treadmill.)

So, my goals for the week with regards to time management:

  • Work out on the treadmill 15 – 20 minutes 5 out of 7 days.
  • Have ds15 weekly work schedule done BEFORE he needs it. *grin* (Since we have a field trip today he won’t need it until tomorrow, so I can still do this one for this week – yay!)
  • Be in bed NO LATER THAN 10pm every night. (I have a really bad time getting to bed then am more tired the next day – I think this will help in MANY areas.)
  • Have everything we’ll need for Thursday / Friday / Saturday plans ready the night before they are needed.

Want to join in? Head over to Women Living Well and let them know! WE CAN DO THIS – with HIS help.

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged:

One thought on “5 Weeks, 5 Disciplines, 5 Challenges ~ Time Management

  1. momto8blog April 16, 2012 at 8:01 pm Reply

    great goals!! good luck!

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

