5 Weeks, 5 Disciplines, 5 Challenges

Photobucket

The Lord has repeatedly put the word “discipline” before me the last several days…the most recent was yesterday over at Women Living Well – they are starting a new series: 5 Weeks, 5 Disciplines, 5 Challenges ~ and I’ve decided to join in (I figure if the Lord keeps putting it before me, the easiest and best thing I can do is look at it and TRY to do something about it…even if I’m not exactly sure what I’m supposed to do…I figure He will show me as I walk forward). I’m not sure I’m going to like this. *grin*

Women Living Well says: The 5 areas of Discipline are: Mind, Body, Spirit, Work & Time

If you look up the word “discipline” on dictionary.com it says:

  1. training to act in accordance with rules
  2. activity, exercise, or regimen that develops or improves a skill
  3. behavior in accord with rules of conduct

So…to start…I was not raised to be “disciplined”…I was raised to follow my feelings and to rebel against authority; to do what I am told I cannot do. Doesn’t really sound like discipline, right? Yup. I’m in trouble. 🙂

A good thing – my husband! He has been a gift from the Lord when it has come to this area of my life. Have I been “cured”? NO.WAY. – NOT.EVEN.CLOSE…BUT…I am so much better than I used to be! He has taught me to slow down and do things because it is the right thing to do (what a concept, right?). For instance, recycling – we recycle EVERYTHING. I remember many years ago when I thought about recycling, and I remember my frustration with the companies wanting me to rinse the items out first – how dare they!? (Sad, I know.) Today, I rinse the items and put them in their separate areas…and it feels really good! Why? Because it is the right thing to do!

I just got done watching Courtney’s video is this post and it is awesome! AMEN sista! (Go watch it, if you haven’t already!)

So, here I am – committing to discipline. My week one commitment is going to be reading God’s Word before doing ANYTHING on the computer in the mornings. I want to START my day with Him in first place. Currently sometimes I do and sometimes I don’t – I want it to be, EVERY.SINGLE.DAY. I believe starting with the MIND will help the rest as I continue this challenge – and only the Lord can help me with my mind! (That’s a BIG job that only a BIG God can handle! *grin*)

(Side note: I am also currently doing an online study group of Made to Crave – we just started last week, so that goes really good with this. However, I want my first commitment HERE in THIS challenge to be God’s Word.)

Want to join in? Head over to Women Living Well and let them know! WE CAN DO THIS – with HIS help.

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged:

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

