Meek & Quiet Spirit ~ Who me?

Houston, we have a problem.

The Lord is working on me, again. Normally painful, but normally worth it. Sometimes I wonder if I will make it through, but I always do – and I am much better afterward.

“rather let it be the hidden person of the heart, with the incorruptible beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is very precious in the sight of God.” 1 Peter 3:4

This time…meek & quiet spirit. If you know me…you are shaking your head and saying, “Her, Lord?”

How do I know? Because that is exactly what *I* am saying!

Who is wise and understanding among you? Let him show by good conduct that his works are done in the meekness of wisdom. James 3:13

The Lord has been teaching me over the last five or so years, through my amazing husband, the power that NO WORDS really does have on others. You see I was raised to be a fighter, and to fight hard. And I learned my lessons well. I also shared this with my husband before we got married – I shared with him that my tongue was a sharp sword and that I wasn’t proud of it but it was true. My husband is just the opposite. He is quiet – and let’s the Lord work through my heart…which in reality is probably the only way it would work with me. Otherwise I would point my finger and yell at my husband. This way he has nothing to do with it…it’s only between me and the Lord. Ever been there? It’s quite the frustrating place to be. *grin* We like to blame others, right? Well, this makes the only finger pointing possible – toward me. ICK! 🙂

So…a couple weeks ago this “Meek & Quiet Spirit” thought came upon me. My thought? {LAUGHING OUT LOUD.} I think I even saw my husband LOL when I mentioned purchasing a bible study on the subject…now you know THAT’S bad! (Ok, he didn’t really LOL…he just gave me a look like, “Really?”)

If you look up “meek” on dictionary.com, this is what it says:

1. humbly patient or docile, as under provocation from others.
2. overly submissive or compliant; spiritless; tame.
3. Obsolete . gentle; kind.

Definitely not words that would bring me to your mind…

Well, today during meeting (what most people call church – we call it “meeting” because the church is all of us as a group of believers…it is not a place we go…anyway…) while there – the Lord impressed upon my heart the need for me to keep a meek and quiet spirit. He wants me to uplift and encourage…and He told me if it wasn’t edifying to anyone, it didn’t need to be shared. Period. Yowza! HARD.FOR.ME.TO.DO! But you know what? Through HIS power, possible! And I’m thankful.

Am I done with this? NOT HARDLY. This is only the beginning! I can feel my insides wanting to yell and scream and share all “the wrong” that has been done to me. But, He says…nope, that’s not the way I would do things therefore that is not the way you will do things. Ouch.

Ugh. Ok Lord. What would you have me do? {Meek and Quiet spirit.} This is going to hurt, isn’t it? (Not physically, but mentally and spiritually.) {Edifying and encouraging} Ok, Lord. I am Yours…mold me as You will. {Meek and quiet spirit.} Ugh.

Then…the tears. Have you felt the healing power of tears? They never cease to amaze me! With the tears goes the frustration and the anger…and in flows forgiveness and wanting to please Him. Freedom. Peace. Comfort.

I have a VERY LONG road ahead with this…but apparently the Lord has decided we are really working on this now. I think it will be better when I get to the end…but I’m not sure I’m looking forward to the road we will be traveling. However, I will cling to Him – and He will carry me through.

Blessed are the meek, For they shall inherit the earth. Matthew 5:5

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged:

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

