Overcoming The Past ~ Yet Again

Photobucket

Does one ever TRULY overcome their past completely? I keep thinking it is possible and then I will turn around get smacked upside the head with mine –

YET AGAIN.

I am so tired of feeling this way. Of feeling misunderstood and judged. I AM TRYING, don’t people understand that?

I GUESS NOT.

Is it Satan talking? Is he trying to drag me down?

YET AGAIN.

Photobucket

Will I go with him? Will I listen to him? Or will I LOOK UP and follow the Lord.

Photobucket

The One who wants to remind me that I AM making progress and that I AM His

NO MATTER WHAT.

“My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

 

 

The problem. Looking at people instead of God.

YET AGAIN.

I guess it is easier for us as sinners to look at others and judge them – they say this makes us feel better about ourselves and our own behavior. However, doing that doesn’t make me feel better, it makes me feel even more like a sinner. But for some reason, that’s what I want to do to those I feel are judging me.

I WANT TO GIVE IT RIGHT BACK.

But yet I don’t. Yet another struggle within my heart. Who will win? Satan or God?

“But I tell you not to resist an evil person. But whoever slaps you on your right cheek, turn the other to him also.” Matthew 5:39

I get tired. I get weary. But I walk on, daily.

“And let us not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart.” Galatians 6:9

I need to keep my eyes on Jesus.

YET AGAIN.

What do I *want* to do? Run, far and fast.

Photobucket

What *will* I do? Stay, and pray.

Photobucket

“Watch and pray, lest you enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.” Mark 14:38

I don’t understand how or why I continually end up where I find myself right now…doubting myself, HATING myself. But bigger than that, better than that – KNOWING THE LORD JESUS CHRIST LOVES ME – JUST THE WAY I AM.

“These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

Struggling, fighting – within myself – the good, the bad, the ugly –

AND GOD.

I cannot thank Him enough for saving me. For bringing me up out of the pit I lived in for so many years. And although I still struggle…He holds me tight. He loves me through it. He reminds me I am ok – IN HIM.

Photobucket

Have a wonderfully blessed day in the Lord.

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Overcoming The Past ~ Yet Again

  1. Bryan March 19, 2012 at 4:38 pm Reply

    Several years ago, a contemporary Christian singing artist shared this from the stage, and it’s stuck with me ever since. “The next time Satan reminds you of your past, you remind him of his future.” There’s victory in that statement!

    Like

    • Dawn March 20, 2012 at 6:37 am Reply

      Bryan, I *LOVE* this! Thank you so much! Blessings to you.

      Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

