Book Review ~ Grow! Bible

Photobucket

Grow! Bible
Published by Crossway
Hardback, 215 pages
Recommended Ages: 8-12
Size: 6 x 8-3/4
ISBN: 978-1-4335-2874-3
Version: ESV
Retail: $27.99

I LOVE to review Bibles! I love to see what is out there – I like to know what is being shared correctly, and what is not being shared correctly (ESPECIALLY when it comes to kids items). I’m super excited to say that this Bible is really neat and all but one thing has been a blessing! (There is one area where it says something about “being free to follow the Law” which dh and I weren’t too happy about but other than that, I love this! This comment was made in a “Note section” titled “What is the Gospel” on page 201.)

Overall I feel this is a very good learning tool for kids! There are a lot of little notes (some are called “4U” others are “Why” and “What” and “Who”), “Cross Connections”, quick easy-to-read book intros, maps, glossary, “God’s Word For Me When…” section, articles and charts. Neat references and helps! Also – full color!

I really liked some of the different “notes” pages. For instance, the “About the Old Testament Books” note page where it tells about the Books of the Old Testament like: Books of Moses (there are a couple sentences about them and then it actually tells you which Books they are) along with Books of History, Books of Wisdom & Poetry and Books of the Prophets…there is just good, helpful information like this throughout the book.

The English Standard Version (ESV) seems to me to basically be the KJV without all the “unnecessary words” and the hard “to get” thee’s and thou’s. *grin* It is very easy to read and understand, I actually like it a lot (and I normally read NKJV).

Would I recommend this book? Yes, I would simply keeping in mind the one comment we found…and making sure there are no others…and then explaining that to your kids. Overall, I do believe this is an excellent tool for younger kids!

Have a wonderfully blessed day!


Disclosure: I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. No compensation was received. All opinions are my own.

Tagged: ,

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

