It was never meant to be…

…this way, I don’t think…its funny how you can see something different, something you didn’t see before, by simply changing the way you look at it. For instance, when playing Boggle with my dh, he will rotate the “board” about half way through the timer. The first time he did this I got a bit irritated, until I stopped and looked. WOW! AMAZING! I could see an entire new set of words. COOL!

Well, this week has been a change of where I was standing and I am able to see things different than I did before. But before I explain further, let me share a little about our life: only three-ish / four-ish years ago I was a wife and full-time working mother of two boys. However, our desire was for me to be home with the boys, and to homeschool if possible. So, when we went to purchase our house, we kept this in mind (as one income vs. two makes a HUGE difference in what you can afford!). Everyone at work wondered why we were looking at / had chosen such a small house – because “the thing” is to buy as big as you can afford, right? However, we knew a different plan. A plan the Lord laid on our hearts.

So, this week I have been training for my new p/t job at our local library (WOOT!). My regular hours will be two days a week – working 3 hours one evening and 4 hours another evening, with eventually one Saturday a month. These hours will be PERFECT for our family and we are SO EXCITED the Lord has provided this position. However, this week has been quite the challenge…getting up and going every day. The boys have gone to either my Aunt’s house or my MIL house. Last night I was really seeing how draining this is on everyone – especially the boys. And then I was thinking – from a different perspective than ever before – that this isn’t the way the Lord meant it to be!

No where in the Bible does it say to:

  • buy as much as you can
  • to leave your children with others
  • work to exhaustion so you can have what others have
  • live beyond your means

….as a matter of fact…the Bible says DIRECTLY OPPOSITE of these things! The Lord knew the plan…and this isn’t it! He knew how important it is for stability of the home…which means more than just mom and dad married (but this day in age, even that is a good start because it is such a rarity).

Now don’t get me wrong, I’ve known being home was what the Lord had planned from the beginning…but this week, after being blessed enough to be home regularly, I could SEE it…I mean ACTUALLY SEE it. Everyone is exhausted, and it shows. Now don’t get me wrong here either…I understand that there are times when one HAS to work outside the home for one reason or another…we aren’t talking about that. BUT…what does “has to” refer to?

A bigger home? A nicer car? Nicer clothes? More “toys” for everyone?

If so, these are NOT the Lord’s original intent for our lives. HE NEVER MEANT FOR US TO WORK FOR THINGS, TO LIVE FOR THINGS! He meant for us to work to obtain what we HAD to have (food, shelter). But somewhere along the line we have really forgotten this…we have forgotten to live for our families, for each other. Some where along the line, families became our enemy. Not good, not good at all. Quite saddening, really.

So, this has been my “revelation” this week…well, maybe not a “revelation”, but a new found gratitude that we don’t have to live this way all this time…once my training is over, life can return “to normal” and everyone will breath a little easier. The Lord knew the plan thousands of years ago…funny how it is just as applicable today.

So, if you are a working mom, I would like to ask that you and your husband look to God’s word and see if maybe He is talking to your heart differently. I understand (really I do!) that there will need to be some big changes to many things…but are you willing to do those for your kids? Let Him lead you…life will be better than you could have ever imagined!

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged: ,

5 thoughts on “It was never meant to be…

  1. Kristen H. January 27, 2012 at 7:19 am Reply

    Bravo Dawn! What an excellent reminder. So many people “have” to work, but only because they think they “need” things. There are many who have gotten themselves in so much that they do have to work to pay the bills. And it’s hard to make big frugal changes when you’re working outside the home all day.

    Like

  2. Loretta S. January 27, 2012 at 7:34 am Reply

    I so agree.

    Like

  3. April January 27, 2012 at 8:25 am Reply

    Dawn, Excellent post! I agree wholeheartedly. Things can’t replace the time we get with our children.

    Blessings!

    April

    Like

  4. Lisa Weidknecht January 27, 2012 at 1:35 pm Reply

    Thanks for joining my Planet Weidknecht Weekend Hop! http://www.weidknecht.com/

    Like

  5. Lisa January 27, 2012 at 8:17 pm Reply

    Amen! What a beautiful post and a good reminder of what is truly important! 🙂

    Many blessings,
    Lisa

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

