How to Have a H.E.A.R.T. For Your Kids Book Club ~ Week 3, Chap 2

I am one of several bloggers participating in this study…here are my  answers to the “Heart Checkup” questions in the book from Chapter Two:

Describe your parents’ marriage. What was great about it, and what do you wish had been different? What are some ways you can clearly see that their relationship has influenced your own marriage?

My parent’s got divorced when I was two and the entire thing, until the day my dad died, was a mess. My mother was not a good role model. She has been married, and divorced, five times.

Unfortunately I am a statistic in the fact that I have been married and divorced…following in the footsteps of those before me. However, now that I am saved, and married to my current husband – we both agree…divorce is NOT AN OPTION. PERIOD.

How would you like to see your own marriage improve? What are you personally willing to do to start making those changes?

My husband and I agree that communication is still an issue in our marriage – we just both have a difficult time. I’m not sure how to make changes, unfortunately. If you have any suggestions, I am sure open to hearing them!

Describe the kind of marriage you would like your children to one day experience. How are you helping prepare them now for those relationships? How are you praying for them and their spouses?

I want my boys to have a biblcial marriage – a marriage designed by God Himself. A loving, caring, sharing relationship. I believe my husband and I are showing our boys how to work through different things in marriage. We are FAR from perfect but I feel, overall, we are a good example. I have been praying for my boys’ spouses since being saved…although this has reminded me I need to do it more…it has been awhile since I’ve prayed that prayer.

What interactions and habits in your marriage are worth imitating? What interactions and habits in your marriage are not worth imitating?

Worth imitating: love and laughter, kissing, holding hands, going for walks, reading our Bibles and praying together, forgiveness

Not worth imitating: lack of communication, emotional outbursts (by me)

Interested in joining us? There is still time! Click on the button at the top of this post to find out more (and to read what the other bloggers had to say). Or simply leave a comment below…

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged:

5 thoughts on “How to Have a H.E.A.R.T. For Your Kids Book Club ~ Week 3, Chap 2

  1. Michelle January 23, 2012 at 11:34 pm Reply

    Dawn,
    It sounds like you and your husband have a strong common goal of working on any communication problems. Your children are blessed to have such a grace-filled marriage in their lives! Blessings to you all.

    Like

  2. Lauren January 25, 2012 at 5:53 am Reply

    This is such a great, honest post! Even though you became a statistic, God is overcoming that in your marriage now, and you are definitely on the right track seeking to do what is right and good!

    Like

  3. Amanda @ The Pelsers January 27, 2012 at 12:24 pm Reply

    My parents divorced when I was three. My dad remarried a few years later but my mom never did. My mom became the ultimate do it herself, make it work, woman. She was my hero, but that extreme independence really messed me up.

    Like

  4. Lynn January 27, 2012 at 5:52 pm Reply

    I have been through a divorce at a young age and had a child within that marriage. I’ve seen first hand how that tears my now 17 yr old daughter to pieces. She has never really recovered, even after both of her parents have remarried and have children together. I wasn’t a saved Christian before my divorce and became a Christian while married to my husband now. We have been through a lot but with the grace of God and the desire to say no to divorce EVER our marriage is growing stronger everyday! Thanks for sharing your story with us..

    Like

  5. Heather January 28, 2012 at 4:13 pm Reply

    Hi Dawn:) I have not been divorced, but I am a “second” wife and divorce is super yuck!! I met my husband after he was divorced for awhile and we have 6 children between us~the his, hers, and ours:) I agree, Divorce is not God’s perfect plan. My parents, though, are happily married and I am sorry you did not have that. It is a blessing. Yet, in a second marriage, the statistics are even harder! Good for you and your husband that you are making it work. Us too!!

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

