How to Have a H.E.A.R.T. For Your Kids Book Club ~ Week 2, Chap 1

I am one of several bloggers participating in this study…here are my  answers to the “Heart Checkup” questions in the book from this chapter:

1. Having a heart for God requires self‐discipline. Do you have a regular quiet time? When? Where? Is it a priority for you? Do you have a plan for studying God’s word?

I *try* to have my quiet time in the mornings. It is a priority, although that doesn’t mean it always happens. I do know that starting my “Blogging thru the Scriptures” posts daily has helped!

2. How would you characterize your prayer time? Do you spend Gme praising God and thanking
Him? (Psalm 71:8, 92:1). Do you confess your sins (1 John 1:9) and make your requests
known to Him (James 4:2)?
My mouth is filled with your praise, and with your glory all the day. Psalm 71:8
It is good to give thanks to the Lord, to sing praises to your name, O Most High. Psalm 92:1
You desire and do not have, so you murder. You covet and cannot obtain, so you fight and
quarrel. You do not have, because you do not ask. James 4:2

Unfortunately I could definitely use more “work” in this area! Although I pray constantly throughout the day, I would like, and do miss, my special “prayer time” with Him.

3. What are some things you need to praise God for regarding your children? What should you
thank Him for? Ask forgiveness for? Ask His wisdom and guidance on?

WOW! This is a big one! I need to praise the Lord in general more for my kids. They are amazing! I need to definitely ask for forgiveness for taking my kids for granted. His wisdom and guidance…OH MY GOSH – YES! I MUST have that to raise these boys for Him!!!

Interested in joining us? There is still time! Click on the button at the top of this post to find out more. Or simply leave a comment below…can you relate to anything I’ve share?

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged:

4 thoughts on “How to Have a H.E.A.R.T. For Your Kids Book Club ~ Week 2, Chap 1

  1. Jen @ Gricefully Homeschooling January 16, 2012 at 10:05 am Reply

    Blogging has also helped me to focus more on Bible reading. Personally, I try to find Bible verses about what I am writing about. But, am also, on my personal blog, writing about what the Bible says about certain subjects {like forgiveness, meekness, and compassion}. This helps me to study God’s word on these things and renew myself on these subjects.

    Many Blessings ~ Jen @ http://www.GricefullyHomeschooling.com

    Like

  2. kelli-AdventurezInChildRearing January 16, 2012 at 11:45 am Reply

    Don’t you just love #3? it’s awesome how stopping to praise Him can change the whole atmosphere! there are so many wonderful things in this chapter – glad you are joining us!!!!

    Like

  3. Amanda @ ThePelsers January 17, 2012 at 1:29 pm Reply

    Praising God for my kids was a revelation for me. I’m thanking for them – after infertility, I’m quite thankful – but I’d never thought about praising God for who He has made them and what He’s doing in them.

    Like

  4. Lauren January 17, 2012 at 2:49 pm Reply

    Love your thoughts here! Thanks for sharing and doing the study along with us!

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

