Blogging thru the Scriptures ~ Isaiah 58:4

 

I am SO EXCITED to be starting this! One thing I have wanted for quite some time is to make sure I am sharing my love for the Lord Jesus Christ on my blog…and now, I will be – DAILY! WOOT! And I am super excited to see who decides to join me! (There is a linky at the bottom of this post.)

Today’s verse is Isaiah 58:4 ~

Indeed you fast for strife and debate,
And to strike with the fist of wickedness.
You will not fast as you do this day,
To make your voice heard on high. (NKJV)

Your fasting ends in quarreling and strife,
and in striking each other with wicked fists.
You cannot fast as you do today
and expect your voice to be heard on high.(NIV)

They were fasting for the wrong reasons…we are supposed to fast so we get closer to the Lord, not so that we can get recognition and definitely not so we can “be heard”. Do you fast? If so, how often? What do you feel you “gain” from it?

Please share what you learned through this verse! I would love to hear!

Joining in? Add your post to the linky! Also, click HERE to see the rest of the daily verses coming up!

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged:

One thought on “Blogging thru the Scriptures ~ Isaiah 58:4

  1. momto8blog January 14, 2012 at 9:37 pm Reply

    fasting is defitinely a way to grow closer to God…Jesus fasted! what better example could we have?
    I am your newest follower..pls follow back if you can.

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

