How to Have a H.E.A.R.T. For Your Kids Book Club ~ Week 1, Intro

I am happily and excitedly joining a wonderful group of ladies and we are going through the book How to Have a H.E.A.R.T. For Your Kids by Rachael Carman. Our book club started reading the book last Monday and will now be posting our progress each Monday until we are done. So, this week we are to discuss the “Introduction”.

Let me start with…this is not a book full of fancy words or glossy thoughts…this is REAL.LIFE.STUFF. Rachael shares as if you are friends talking over a cup of your favorite drink. AMAZING! and wonderful!

I would like to share several parts of the “Introduction” that stuck out for me…

“I underestimated the long term impact these friends would have on my life.” Isn’t it amazing how the Lord starts preparing our hearts before we are even ready! He has everything planned PERFECTLY…when we don’t even know it! I love it! I have seen this in my own life SO MANY times.

“I knew enough to understand that I really didn’t know what I was doing” Yep – there ya have it. I guess I can go now, my job is done. *grin* Man can I relate! Even still as we are on our third year homeschooling…I feel lost. Actually, often, I feel like I don’t even know what I’m doing when it comes to parenting…and we’re on year fifteen!

“I did not have a heart for my children I didn’t see my children as a trust or a blessing or a gift.” OUCH! Um, yea, I can relate. I am still processing this one…still chewing on what the Lord would have me do with this…a light bulb has gone off but it is one that will take a little time to perk. I have much room for improvement when it comes to loving, trusting and my heart.

“You can recover your heart. However it turned out that the key to happiness was to entrust my heart to Him who alone is able to keep it until the day of His coming.” AMEN! sista! Apparently “the heart” is going to be a regular thing in this book (LOL…maybe that has a little to do with the title, ya think?)…my heart is…well…still a bit hard, I am finding. This has started me thinking it is time to pray for a softer heart.

“…but you’ve given them no target, no testimony, no Teacher – yet to give them your heart” Man, back to the heart thing…I think I am going to have to take a good long look at my heart. I know it is much softer than it used to be, but I think there is much more room to grow…

Interested in joining us? There is still time! Click on the button at the top of this post to find out more. Or simply leave a comment below…can you relate to anything I’ve share?

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged:

8 thoughts on “How to Have a H.E.A.R.T. For Your Kids Book Club ~ Week 1, Intro

  1. Michelle January 9, 2012 at 8:20 am Reply

    I, too, was amazed at how God start putting people in Rachael’s life that would help guide them toward homeschooling–it’s amazing to see His plan revealed to us. I look forward to reading your next post!

    Like

  2. kathy balman January 9, 2012 at 9:05 am Reply

    I am reading along with you! I too have some work to do on having a HEART for my kids. I became a stay at home mom in August and I am still working on getting to know and understand my kids and what their needs are.

    Like

  3. Amanda @ ThePelsers January 9, 2012 at 5:47 pm Reply

    I love how Rachael doesn’t mince words. She does have a way of grabbing you and speaking straight into your heart.

    Like

    • Dawn F January 9, 2012 at 9:16 pm Reply

      I agree. She is speaking to me and it’s what I needed.

      Like

  4. Heather January 9, 2012 at 7:03 pm Reply

    ditto what Amanda said! This is such a little book to hold so much wisdom, isn’t it? I love it and am so excited to read what everyone says–each post I read reminds me to think about another thing. very cool:)

    Like

  5. Jen @ Gricefully Homeschooling January 9, 2012 at 8:53 pm Reply

    Yes, I agree this book is real life stuff. It’s her story but also the story of others, like her. Thank you for joining us.

    Like

  6. Lauren January 9, 2012 at 9:20 pm Reply

    Hey Dawn! Great, honest post! Good stuff isn’t it? I always thought I had a heart for my kids, doing it for them, but it’s been revealed to me recently that it was selfishness and pride all along. God can work with any heart in any state, praying for all or us to be worked over!

    Like

  7. Sarah Bailey January 14, 2012 at 5:07 pm Reply

    Thank you for sharing! Love the honesty.

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

