Blogging thru the Scriptures ~ Romans 1:18-19

 

I am SO EXCITED to be starting this! One thing I have wanted for quite some time is to make sure I am sharing my love for the Lord Jesus Christ on my blog…and now, I will be – DAILY! WOOT! And I am super excited to see who decides to join me! (There is a linky at the bottom of this post.)

So, today’s verses are: Romans 1:18-19

For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who suppress the truth in unrighteousness, because what may be known of God is manifest in them, for God has shown it to them. (NKJV)

The wrath of God is being revealed from heaven against all the godlessness and wickedness of men who suppress the truth by their wickedness, since what may be known about God is plain to them, because God has made it plain to them (NIV)

For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who by their unrighteousness suppress the truth. For what can be known about God is plain to them, because God has shown it to them. (ESV)

God’s anger is revealed from heaven against all the sin and evil of the people whose evil ways prevent the truth from being known. God punishes them, because what can be known about God is plain to them, for God himself made it plain. (GNT)

God shows his anger from heaven against all the evil and wrong things that people do. Their evil lives hide the truth they have. This makes God angry because they have been shown what he is like. Yes, God has made it clear to them. (Easy-To-Read Version)

Well, I could have started with a harder set of verses? I don’t think so! LOL The good thing…this made me do some real WORK and that I loved!

Oftentimes when I have a verse or verses I am struggling with I read several versions – which is why I have included so many above. (Did you know they have an “Easy-To-Read Version? I didn’t, until now.) Additionally, for me, reading these two verses alone didn’t make much sense…I had to continue reading for it to “come together” more.

Well, this is what I have come up with so far – from reading my Bible, different versions and a couple commentaries…The Lord showed His anger for disobedience in several ways: the flood, destroying Sodom and Gomorrah, but he also does it in ways that are “less dramatic” but still very powerful, such as allowing us to do “whatever we want” and deal with the consequences. The Lord has shown Himself to everyone starting with creation…it is obvious that there was a Creator and a Designer however some choose to go against that and sew evil, those are the ones He punishes. He doesn’t punish those who have no knowledge of Him, but those who choose not to listen to what they have heard / know about Him.

Please share what you learned through these verses! I would love to hear!

Joining in? Add your post to the linky! Also, click HERE to see the rest of the daily verses coming up!

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged:

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

