Blog Hop ~ So You Want to be a Blogger

I was excited to hear about this blog hop discussing “So You Want to be a Blogger” over at The kids are grown, now what. There is SO MUCH to talk about when it comes to blogging! I am excited to see what everyone posts as I’m sure there will be MANY different thoughts shared. For me, I got in to blogging in June of 2010 as a part of the TOS Homeschool Crew…little did I know what that would start! I am no longer a part of “The Crew” as it was just too hard to incorporate the items into my high schoolers work…his focus needs to be on his regular work…but I never realized what this door would open!

I have been a fairly transparent person for many years now…as I believe sins grow in darkness and die in the light.

For there is nothing hidden which will not be revealed, nor has anything been kept secret but that it should come to light. Mark 4:22

For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Walk as children of light (for the fruit of the Spirit is in all goodness, righteousness, and truth), finding out what is acceptable to the Lord. And have no fellowship with the unfruitful works of darkness, but rather expose them. For it is shameful even to speak of those things which are done by them in secret. But all things that are exposed are made manifest by the light, for whatever makes manifest is light. Therefore He says:

“ Awake, you who sleep,
Arise from the dead,
And Christ will give you light.” Ephesians 5:8-14

Therefore, there are many sins within my family that need to die and be replaced with the Word of God (Truth). I guess blogging has been sort of a therapy for me. 🙂 [And just think, you’ve gotten to “enjoy the ride”. LOL] But this takes us more toward the direction of this blog hop – WHY do you want to blog would be the first question you ask yourself…not that it truly matters in the end because it may “end” being something totally different than it was started as (like mine). But, for now, you’d look at WHY you want to blog. They say it’s good to have a “niche” within the blogging community – so this would help you head in that direction.

Once you are sure you would like to try blogging, you would want to decide on a name for your blog…one that describes what your blog is about, at least to some extent. The next step would be to decide what platform you want to use – starting with: free or paid. My suggestion would be to start with free, this way you can experiment a little and see what you like and are comfortable with; in my experience blogger is a good place to start as it is very user friendly then progress to wordpress when you are ready. WordPress has both free and paid areas available. In my opinion, starting with the free sites allows you to see if this is something you are really interested in, or not, before putting out any money. Then PLAY AWAY! 🙂

For me, blogging is something I greatly enjoy for many reasons…I enjoy getting to know other people (both by visiting and commenting on their sites, and by others visiting and commenting on my site). The “blogging community” is huge and a lot of the ladies [and yes, there are even a few gentlemen] are helpful and friendly…which is nice for those of us who are home most of the time – it’s a circle of friends. My “blogging friends” are a wonderful help to me every day as they help me feel connected to something outside my own home. *grin* Additionally, with so many things becoming “virtual” – there is great opportunity to help “spread the word” about so many things! Doing reviews and giveaways, for me, has been a lot of fun…something I greatly enjoy…which was not in my mind when I started blogging – so keep that in mind as I mentioned earlier…it may become something different than you originally intended…

Before closing I’d like to share a quick “note of caution” – if you aren’t computer savvy nor open to exposing yourself – blogging is not for you. 🙂 And if you do decide to start blogging, be prepared to gain a new obsession hobby.

Interested in starting blogging and have questions? I would LOVE to try to help…leave me a comment and I’ll get right back with you. Also, make sure to “hop” over to the others involved in this blog hop to see what “words of wisdom” they have to share.

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Tagged:

4 thoughts on “Blog Hop ~ So You Want to be a Blogger

  1. Melissa Lawler December 29, 2011 at 9:16 am Reply

    Thanks so much for linking up, Dawn! I love it!

    Like

  2. Audrey December 29, 2011 at 12:06 pm Reply

    I love my blogs. At one time I had 3 blogs and 2 websites. It all got to be more than I could handle. My two sites are still up and I don’t think they’ll come down but I don’t put new content up. Two of my blogs are stagnant and so my time just goes into the one blog. Blogging really is a part of my daily life.

    Like

  3. Lisa December 29, 2011 at 9:38 pm Reply

    Great post! I really like your blog, by the way, and will be visiting often! 🙂

    Like

  4. Janet K December 29, 2011 at 11:13 pm Reply

    You are so right that it doesn’t matter where you start because you have no idea where it’s about to take you!! 🙂

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

