Review ~ Cook’n (Recipe Organizer Software)

Photobucket

One word = AMAZING! Another word = AWESOME!

I.AM.IMPRESSED! And quite honestly, that isn’t very easy to do!

Don, speaking during the videos, is absolutely hilarious (in a good way)…fun to listen to. Twelve minutes went FAST! (This was the intro video…which really is a MUST watch.)

The cookbook that comes with your Cook’n software has the following chapters:

  • Appetizers
  • Beverages
  • Breads
  • Soup / Stews
  • Salads
  • Main Dishes
  • Side Dishes
  • Sweets & Desserts
  • Breakfast
  • Glossary

There are  probably a few hundred recipes, already included. However that isn’t the best part. One of the things I think is so amazingly awesome about this program is that you can do a search within the Cook’n search program, find a recipe and then “Capture” it – the program AUTOMATICALLY puts all the information in the proper place (title, picture, ingredients, instructions, etc.). AMAZING! You can make as many cookbooks as you’d like with as many different chapters as you desire.

Another VERY HANDY tool with this is that you can change the number of servings – and it will AUTOMATICALLY change the amount of ingredients needed. AMAZING! Not only that, but this thing will make a shopping list, allow menu planning, and create shopping lists. THIS.PROGRAM.IS.OUTSTANDING! (And like I said, I am not easily impressed.)

You can pick from several different recipe themes so your pages can look nice. You can print recipe cards; you can even email your recipes!

There are so many times I will find a recipe online and then never be able to find it again. NO MORE! YAY! Here is a picture “walk thru” of getting a recipe…it truly is THIS EASY!

Step 1: Search and find…

Photobucket

Photobucket

Once found, you click “Capture”.

Photobucket

Which AUTOMATICALLY loads all the information in the correct spot!

Yup, it did that ALL BY ITSELF! (Am I the only one totally impressed with this??? I doubt it!)

Here is the same recipe with just one of the approximately fifteen different themes available (this is the default):

Now a shopping list:

And a nutritional analysis:

And last, but not least, menu planning – which is drag and drop! What can’t be seen in the picture below is that the actual computer screen has all the recipes on the left side so you can drag and drop them in and on the right side of the screen is the actual recipe. Amazing! You can also see where I added my own item (sausage links) below…quick and easy!

A negative is the file size…at 153MB…download time takes some time.

You can check out a demo video HERE.

The cost $99 but currently on sale for $79.95 and it is available for both PC and Mac. In my opinion, the cost is a bit high and would be out of my price range (but man am I thanking the Lord I got it to review – what a blessing!). However, for the serious cook or menu planning person – this may be such a valuable tool that the price would be considered good. Another thing, they have a 200% guarantee!

Have a wonderfully blessed day cook’n away!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this software free in exchange for my review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Tagged:

One thought on “Review ~ Cook’n (Recipe Organizer Software)

  1. Tina December 17, 2011 at 9:22 pm Reply

    Looks good but even with the discount it is too expensive. I can tell you like it. 😉

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

