eBook Review ~ Antiquing Information: What Every Antique Hunter Must Know


Antiquing Information: What Every Antique Hunter Must Know
Pages: 91
Method: Ebook
Price: $14.50

I had the opportunity to review Antiquing Information: What Every Antique Hunter Must Know. And to be honest, the only reason I wanted to review this was so I could help my mil who has A LOT of questions about many different items around her house. 🙂

This book covers four different areas: an introduction to antique hunting (prices, what to look for, etc), pottery, furniture and glassware. Also included is some company contact information and references (both including links).

A couple things that really caught my attention:

Just because an object happens to be old, doesn't automatically make it an antique.
Well, it doesn't make it a valuable antique -- one you would desire to own. The antique
"connoisseurs" argue that age alone can't define value. You must also look a little farther,
especially toward the quality of an object, whether it is furniture, glassware or pottery.
If there is no demand for a rare item of high quality in great
condition, then it's likely that the item is not worth (at least at the
moment) much at all.

I found out that antiques are scrutinized in four areas: quality (seen as the most important), condition, rarity and demand. I was informed of five “Rules of Antiquing” such as: shop around and be patient. Then “Tips & Tricks” like “black-lighting” – AMAZING information provided here!

The pottery section has a significant amount that covers history! WOW! We then move to furniture which covers oak, walnut and mahogany along with American and European. Although this section has a lot of history, the descriptions (at least for me) were easier to visualize. We move on to glassware which explains Europe, England and Ireland – again focusing on history with excellent description. [If you haven’t already gathered it yet…there are pretty much NO pictures in this ebook…which I personally would like to see added…pictures help, at least for me.]

The entire book is written with humor like this, “You nod politely,  but  I can see that “glaze” in your eyes.” (pg. 33)

Overall, to my surprise (since – remember – I said I got this to review for my mil)…I ENJOYED THIS BOOK! I think it has some VERY INTERESTING information with regards to antiques and I believe it would be helpful to just about anyone.

The author has a website with more antiquing information.

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Tagged: ,

5 thoughts on “eBook Review ~ Antiquing Information: What Every Antique Hunter Must Know

  1. Brian Daly December 7, 2011 at 10:08 pm Reply

    Hey thanks Dawn for those kind words.
    I am glad you enjoyed it.
    Regards
    Brian

    Like

  2. Shar December 8, 2011 at 1:36 pm Reply

    “The entire book is written with humor like this, “You nod politely, but I can see that “glaze” in your eyes.” (pg. 33)” LOL
    It sounds like a really great book; it’s always nice to find out a little more about antiques. Especially the first excerpt that you included.
    I hope your day is going great!

    xo

    Like

  3. ann December 8, 2011 at 3:25 pm Reply

    I never knew any of this stuff until I read your post..thanks! I am a new follower from MBC…pls follow back if you can!

    Like

  4. Rose December 8, 2011 at 6:25 pm Reply

    Thanks for stopping by and following me at Tips 4 Saving. I am now following you as well. Great Review!

    Like

  5. Candis December 8, 2011 at 6:29 pm Reply

    Your first point – “Just because an object happens to be old, doesn’t automatically make it an antique” should be a book all it’s own, LOL!!!! So many people call old stuff antique all the time…irritates me so!!!! Following you back, thanks so much for stopping by Letting You Grow!
    ~ Candis
    http://lettingyougrow.blogspot.com

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

