Book Review, Tour and Giveaway ~ Imagination Station

I have had the opportunity to review each of the books in the new Imagination Station series (a Focus on the Family resource), this time it was books 5 & 6: Showdown with the Shepherd and Problems with Plymouth. The books in this series are recommended for kids ages 7 and up. They are written with large print with an occasional black & white picture throughout.

Some of the things I LOVE about this series, the books are:

  • informative about history
  • informative about geography
  • easy and entertaining; not difficult in ANY way to read, follow along or understand
  • there are both a boy and a girl as the main characters, so they are equally enjoyable for both
  • there is a least some discussion of the Bible in every book
  • there is a “Secret Word Puzzle” at the end

Basically, these aren’t just “books” – they are TRULY educational books. Kids will learn without realizing they are even learning (and isn’t this THE BEST kind of learning? By things they truly enjoy?)

Showdown with the Shepherd is 117 pages and is the story of David and Goliath – told in a very interesting way (let’s just say one I’ve never heard of nor thought of before) – it is entertaining to see how the authors intermix the past (from the Bible) and present day.

Photobucket

Problems with Plymouth is also 117 pages and is the story of the pilgrims early days with Native Americans and Thanksgiving.

Photobucket

The books are also reasonably priced at only $4.99 each.

They are also working on Book #7 Secret of the Prince’s Tomb, which should be available in January 2012.

Photobucket

and book #8 Mystery of Starlight Island which should be available May 2012.

Photobucket

Now, for the REALLY good part…I get to give one SET of these two books away to one of my readers – YAY!

Here’s what you need to do for your chance to win:


//

<a href=”http://rafl.es/enable-js”>You need javascript enabled to see this giveaway</a>.This giveaway is now closed.  One random winner will be drawn and notified. If I do not receive confirmation back within 48 hours, a new winner will be drawn. Good luck!

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Side Door Communications. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Tagged:

12 thoughts on “Book Review, Tour and Giveaway ~ Imagination Station

  1. Lisa Washington November 7, 2011 at 9:17 am Reply

    I learned that these books are great for kids 7 and up. Which means they are perfect for me!!! My kids are 7 and up. I love the fact that they are based on History and sound entertaining for kids. I’m always looking for exciting books to read to my kids.

    Like

  2. Kala November 7, 2011 at 9:27 am Reply

    I love the fact that while it teaches history, it’s also Biblical which is great for my kids

    Like

  3. Katherine Aitken November 7, 2011 at 2:39 pm Reply

    I learned that each book has a secret word for you to uncover in the back pages.

    Like

  4. Brock Eastman November 10, 2011 at 10:56 am Reply

    Thanks so much for posting. Very excited to be part of this amazing series. You can learn more about my work at Focus and my other writing on my blog: http://thequestfortruthbooks.blogspot.com/

    Like

  5. Joelle November 10, 2011 at 4:07 pm Reply

    I learned that Patrick and Beth, the main characters in the books, are cousins.

    Like

  6. […] Station book set, click HERE to […]

    Like

  7. Naomi November 11, 2011 at 9:28 am Reply

    I learned that these books would be perfect for my 7 and up aged kids.

    Like

  8. Michelle November 12, 2011 at 11:36 pm Reply

    I learned that there are a lot of cool books in this series, and that they include interactive website fun!

    Like

  9. Marci J November 15, 2011 at 3:56 am Reply

    I learned there’s a hidden word in each book

    Like

  10. kelli-AdventurezInChildRearing November 18, 2011 at 8:50 am Reply

    I learned they also have podcast’s

    Like

  11. Marie November 20, 2011 at 10:39 am Reply

    I learned I could read a portion of one of their books using Click A Book

    Like

  12. Sarah Bailey November 21, 2011 at 9:00 am Reply

    I loved the chose your own adventure books as a child but with these there is the Biblical aspect that allows the Bible to weave it’s way into the child in a fun and adventuresome way.

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

