Teen CERT – Part 1

Photobucket

Ever heard of it? I hadn’t either. There was a brief announcement about Teen CERT training at our last homeschool meeting last week. I was intrigued, as was my 15 year-old son. So, what is Teen CERT? Here is a list of things covered during the approximate 20 hours of training:

  1. Disaster Preparedness
  2. Fire Safety
  3. Disaster Medical Operations – part 1
  4. Disaster Medical Operations – part 2
  5. Light Search and Rescue Operations
  6. CERT Organization
  7. Disaster Psychology
  8. Terrorism
  9. Review and Disaster Simulation

Doesn’t that sound amazing? I think so! 🙂 And it is * F.R.E.E. * !

Many years ago I did some search & rescue training with a dog I had, so being involved in helping others during disastrous situations is something I’ve been interested in for quite some time – and to see my son was interested (without my prodding), was VERY exciting for me. So, we signed him up. Well, last night was the first three hours of training and I decided to stay (as parents are not required to) because it is an hour drive one way – I was glad to see some other adults present as well.

They started the training and I loved it! As a matter of fact, I contacted the person I’m supposed to work for on Saturdays and asked if I could get the next two Saturdays off for training – praise the Lord he said yes! So, today ds15 and I are headed out bright and early for a full day (8am – 5pm) of training. The instructor said we’ll be covering med-ops and search & rescue. We’re both looking forward to it!

Sound interesting to you? If so, check out THIS website. Although we don’t live in New Jersey, it seems to have a lot of good information about the program.

I’ll keep you updated on how things go as we continue our training…until then, here are a couple of pictures from last night. We have about 20 people in our training group (the majority of them are homeschoolers too!).

Photobucket

Photobucket

If this sounds like something you’d be interested in – check to see if anything has been started in your area, and if not – start something!

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

One thought on “Teen CERT – Part 1

  1. Lisa October 22, 2011 at 9:32 am Reply

    This sounds awesome– something my teenaged son would enjoy. I’m going to look it up and see if there are any in this area! Thanks for forwarding the information along!

    Blessings,
    Lisa

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

