The Homeschool Mother’s Journal ~ 10/7/11

The Homeschool Mother's Journal
This post is linked to The Homeschool Mother’s Journal over at The Homeschool Chick.
Make sure you hop over to see what other homeschool mom’s have to say!

In my life this week…
hectic. I started another job (mainly working from home) a couple weeks ago and I’m still trying to get everything “under my feet”…I feel like I’m slipping constantly. Praying it improves (would appreciate your prayers as well).

In our homeschool this week…
We “skipped” Monday and Tuesday, so for the first time EVER I put school on Saturday and Sunday too…we NEED to TRY and stay on some kind of schedule.

What’s working / not working for us…
we LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Visual Latin (it is a review we are doing – watch for it, should be next week when it is posted). Grammar – still having issues…

Questions/thoughts I have…
Any recommendations for a 9th grader who is having difficulty with things like subject, verb, etc? This is only our 3rd year homeschooling and apparently this was “overlooked” when he was in public school (he *ALWAYS* got A’s and B’s so I never knew this was an issue).

My favorite thing this week was…
finding out we are getting a new puppy tomorrow – YAY!

I am inspired by…
those women who seem to TRULY love their families and want to do what is best for them, even if it means giving up something of themselves (an area I feel I still need to improve).

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

Photobucket

Have a wonderfully blessed day!

4 thoughts on “The Homeschool Mother’s Journal ~ 10/7/11

  1. Jen October 7, 2011 at 7:09 am Reply

    I love that scripture! I too received a new WAH job and am trying to find that balance. 😉 Hope you have a wonderful weekend ahead!

    Like

  2. Carrie October 7, 2011 at 9:06 am Reply

    Oh, I love Exodus 14:14 – a constant reminder to let go of the reins and allow Him to drive. Have you looked at Rod and Staff curriculum? It is no nonsense grammar. I’ve used it for 2nd, 3rd, and 4th. I don’t even know if they offer a stand-alone for ninth, but it may be worth checking out. Very curious about the visual Latin! I must say, I wish that I had work for my home-based business! While I know it’s tough to find the proper balance and sanity level, work is good for the soul. Plus, it’d be nice to see dividends for my initial investment. You’ll be in my thoughts and prayers. I missed the Monday weight check-in….a little disgruntled and discouraged at my lack of progress. Perhaps I’ll have something positive next Mon!

    Like

  3. Cheryl October 7, 2011 at 9:25 am Reply

    I have a 10th grader that we pulled out of PS 3 years ago and we are also having the exact same problem with Language Arts. It’s very frustrating because I feel the pressure of only having a few years left with him and there’s so much to do. I’ll be interested to see what recommendations you get.

    Visiting form THSMJ

    Like

  4. Teaching Mommy October 11, 2011 at 8:54 pm Reply

    Not sure what the exact problem is, but, maybe if you have your son find the action first and then ask himself “who or what is doing the action” may help? I majored in English in college and have homeschooled our children since my now-9th grader was 5. This is the first year we are using Easy Grammar and I truly think it’s the BEST curriculum I’ve ever seen. No-nonsense, it teaches the concepts in an orderly, easy, and non-cluttered way. Not a ton of writing. Not cumbersome. Makes sense. My 9th grader has always struggled with grammar and he is improving this year.

    I hoped that helped. Only problem with asking advice of homeschoolers is that you’ll come up with about 50 different opinions. Advice is a great spring-board, but don’t get frustrated. There is something that will work for YOUR children.

    Hope you post a pic of the new puppy next week. How fun!!!

    Like

I *LOVE* to read your comments! Please share your thoughts!

